Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Science of Empathy

http://www.sciencedirect.com/science...68010214002314

This is extremely fascinating and full of insights, I recommend reading this.

Semi-related story: When I was an undergrad, I presented at a student conference on Beowulf. After the four of us students gave our presentations, a literature professor in the audience who studied emotion in literary texts raised his hand during questioning to ask about the use of anachronistic terms before the labels for them existed (which was completely unrelated to anything any of us had been talking about). He was just like "I'm going to make this student conference about me".

So I was like, "yeah, I disagree, but I think I see what you're arguing--it sounds like you think we shouldn't use anachronisms at all, so, for example, that we can't talk about gravity before 1687, and we shouldn't study emotion in texts published before we had a modern psychological understanding of emotions".

And he got so mad at me and super embarrassed and that's the end of that story.

Hayley Margules, historian and Onyx Path writer
    Chronicles of Darkness: Dark Eras and Companion, Beast: The Primordial Ready-Made Characters, and Dark Ages: Tome of Secrets

Comment

Originally posted by hm8453a View Post
      As someone who spent far too many years dealing with stuffy professors and wishing I could take them all down a few pegs, I salute you.

Comment

Originally posted by hm8453a View Post