Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Art, Criticism and Freedom. (Contains Disturbing Topics, Please Be Aware)

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Art, Criticism and Freedom. (Contains Disturbing Topics, Please Be Aware)

double thread.
    Last edited by TGUEIROS; 06-06-2018, 12:00 PM.

I second you wholeartedly, tgueiros.
    There is no crime in saying anything, and that by no means the message can't be disturbing or terrifying.

Comment

All right then.

Originally posted by TGUEIROS View Post
      I do Isator, I find it abhorrent. Never watched it, and probably never will.

I would if I studied film history, or race relations, or something that made the discomfort worth it. But I don't.
      I feel as though this is taking my point kind of literally, rather than considering the substance of what I was saying.

​Sure, those things are valid to the question of how The Birth of a Nation is watched now, close to a hundred years after its cinematic release, at a point in time when even bigots probably need to go very far out of their way to watch it, and perhaps find more contemporary material if they wish to do so.

​The point I was making was based on a consideration of how to perceive and criticise it as though it was new, in which the statement "if you don't like it, don't watch it" is kind of inadequate when it's something that was both contributing to a popular narrative that marginalized and oppressed a large section of the American population, and was so empowering to bigots that it sparked the revival of an actual terrorist organisation.