Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Art, Criticism and Freedom. (Contains Disturbing Topics, Please Be Aware)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Art, Criticism and Freedom. (Contains Disturbing Topics, Please Be Aware)

Originally posted by Isator Levi View Post

You know what that film is about, right?

As to not further derail the Inspirational thread...

I do Isator, I find it abhorent. Never watched it, and probably never will.

I would if I had academic objectives around it, like if I was a film student, or studied race relations. But I don't.

You know that this year's film festivals featured films of intense violence, sexual and otherwise, visited including on children, right? To critical acclaim, right? There are extremely graphic and heavy movies being produced today.

I really don't understand people that would subject themselves to that.

I will never consume that. Not even in cartoons, much less live action.

But I will never argue for total censorship.

Restrict age of attendance, exhibition venue and hours, include disclaimers? Totally for it.

Censorship? Never. The cost is immeasurable.

I don't even consider myself an old school tough guy, you know? I'm squeamish as hell. Hate gore horror, never watch it. I cry all the time in Holocaust movies, and everytime I see the Passion of the Christ, even not being religious myself. And since I'm being completely honest here, some Disney movies too (I hate you Mufasa).

But the old adage "sticks and stones..." rings true for me.

As long as people aren't harassing you to expose you to things you don't like, I don't believe you have any case to restrict what they want to say.

DISCLAIMER:

This is NOT the "Female Sexual Objectification in Fantasy Art Discussion" thread.