Minor crisis as a GM

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Minor crisis as a GM

I’m experiencing a minor crisis as a GM. I have been tabletop roleplaying ever since 1989, and while I took three years off just participating as a player earlier this decade, I just got back in the role of GMing. However, this time around things feel different.

Imagine that I have been enjoying popcorn for a decade. Most people like popcorn, but a decade of eating popcorn can get boring. So, after that decade I tried some crackers, but honestly it was the same as popcorn. It had a different name, different texture and taste, but it’s the same stuff with a different name. Crackers were fine for a few years. Then I found licorice. Now, the thing about licorice is that not everyone likes it. It’s salty and you can get it spiced with, for example, chili. And after that I could not go back to popcorn.

I have been enjoying licorice for twelve years now, and every year or two WW / OPP comes out with a new flavor. I love it. And I’m good at getting other people excited about licorice. I got a whole bunch of folks in my home town excited about licorice. Now these people are getting other people excited about licorice. The thing is that I’m no longer into just licorice. I want licorice with all sorts of flavors. The problem is that if you try to offering licorice chili to someone who is used to popcorn then it’s is a hell of a shock. Better to go with licorice first and then slowly ease them into it.