Breed health?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Breed health?

I'm a big dog hobbyist, which means I'm very interested in pugmire. But sadly also aware of how many dog breeds suffer from some awful conditions due to breeders going for looks. Such as pug's twisted spine (due to the tail curl) and breathing problems (short snout), German Shepherd's sloped back (cannot sit OR walk proper) or Danchhund's easily breakable back (short legs+long back).

Just curious if Pugmire does address some of these, or are the breeds assumed to have overcome these illnesses?

My gallery.

I'm curious about this, too. Purebreds are genetic basketcases, and since there seems to be emphasis on purebreeding in Pugmire, it could be a concern. But, perhaps when humans (or whatever) uplifted dogs, they cured their genetic weaknesses?

Comment

The setting assumes that most of these problems have been eliminated. There aren't any mechanics for them.

Rose Bailey
      Onyx Path Development Producer
      Cavaliers of Mars Creator | Chronicles of Darkness Lead Developer

Retired as forum administrator. Please direct inquiries to the Contact Us link.

Comment

What Rose said. However, I have been playing with the idea that old dogs sometimes develop these problems, but that's purely for story purposes. I don't think that'll be part of the core game, however.

Comment

Originally posted by Rose Bailey View Post
          The setting assumes that most of these problems have been eliminated. There aren't any mechanics for them.
          Originally posted by eddyfate View Post
          What Rose said. However, I have been playing with the idea that old dogs sometimes develop these problems, but that's purely for story purposes. I don't think that'll be part of the core game, however.
          Thank you, both of you, for answers.