Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask the Devs

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • I know I'm a pain, but questions keep comming to me

    Using artifact gaunlets that count as a single artifact, it's considered as 2 weapons with the same tags, right? So, do them give you the bonus on a clash attack?

    Comment


    • Originally posted by Robert Vance View Post
      He's a heavenly functionary in charge of all bureaucratic matters involving Exaltation, in addition to his personal interest in the Exalted.
      Basically, he writes their biographies.


      Formerly Inugami, formerly Tornado Wolf.

      My RWBY Blog on Tumblr: Semblances, Kingdoms, Grimm, and more!

      Comment


      • Originally posted by Robert Vance View Post
        They'll also be able to modify aquatic forms to take them on land, for the octopus and squid fans.
        ​Would you picture that as preserving them against dehydration so they're still slithering around all squishy and flat, or propping them up as though their tissues were more solid, or being able to swim through the air?


        I have approximate knowledge of many things.
        Watch me play Dark Souls III (completed)
        https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLDtbr08HW8RW4jOHN881YA3yRZBV4lpYw Watch me play Breath of the Wild (updated 12/03)

        Comment


        • Originally posted by Isator Levi View Post

          ​Would you picture that as preserving them against dehydration so they're still slithering around all squishy and flat, or propping them up as though their tissues were more solid, or being able to swim through the air?
          It makes them able to survive out of water and breathe air. If it's a form that doesn't really have any means of walking around on land, you'll probably want to stick some Extra Legs on.


          Developer for Exalted

          Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

          Robert Vance's Patreon

          Comment


          • Originally posted by Lerinome View Post
            I know I'm a pain, but questions keep comming to me

            Using artifact gaunlets that count as a single artifact, it's considered as 2 weapons with the same tags, right? So, do them give you the bonus on a clash attack?
            Yes and yes.


            Developer for Exalted

            Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

            Robert Vance's Patreon

            Comment


            • Couple of rules questions that came up with my friend's brawler:
              I'm correct in thinking charms can't reset themselves immediately? So if she does 10+ withering damage with Lightning Strikes Twice, that's not going to immediately reset it allowing her to use it again? She'll have to make another withering attack that gets 10+ damage to reset Lightning Strikes Twice?

              Also, what happens if your initiative changes while halfway through a multi-attack charm?
              For example, she uses Hammer on Iron to make multiple attacks, but then after the first attack interrupts with Lightning Strikes Twice and does a withering attack. Her initiative goes up; does this affect the following Hammer on Iron attacks' damage? I assume not, as the damage on those was calculated before the Lightning Strikes Twice attack.


              "Wizard of Oz, you really are a wizard!"

              Comment


              • How does Rampage-Berserker Attack interact with Ferocious Jab? Do you just pay the 1m at the beginning and the damage ticks up for each time the damage of the attack is repeated?

                How does Rampage-Berserker Attack interact with Heaven Fury Smite? Do you fully resolve RBA and if they where crashed at any point in the resolution you can then HFS?

                Comment


                • Originally posted by Robert Vance View Post
                  It makes them able to survive out of water and breathe air.
                  ​Oh no, I just meant that, for a cephalopod, what would be your own image of how that would look?


                  I have approximate knowledge of many things.
                  Watch me play Dark Souls III (completed)
                  https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLDtbr08HW8RW4jOHN881YA3yRZBV4lpYw Watch me play Breath of the Wild (updated 12/03)

                  Comment


                  • Originally posted by Isator Levi View Post

                    ​Oh no, I just meant that, for a cephalopod, what would be your own image of how that would look?
                    For an octopus, you're using your tentacles to move yourself around on land.


                    Developer for Exalted

                    Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                    Robert Vance's Patreon

                    Comment


                    • Originally posted by Zardoz View Post
                      How does Rampage-Berserker Attack interact with Ferocious Jab? Do you just pay the 1m at the beginning and the damage ticks up for each time the damage of the attack is repeated?
                      It'd only apply once, based on their onslaught at the time you make the attack.

                      How does Rampage-Berserker Attack interact with Heaven Fury Smite? Do you fully resolve RBA and if they where crashed at any point in the resolution you can then HFS?
                      Yeah.


                      Developer for Exalted

                      Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                      Robert Vance's Patreon

                      Comment


                      • Originally posted by Robert Vance View Post
                        For an octopus, you're using your tentacles to move yourself around on land.
                        Arms, of course!

                        Comment


                        • Originally posted by The Wizard of Oz View Post
                          Couple of rules questions that came up with my friend's brawler:
                          I'm correct in thinking charms can't reset themselves immediately? So if she does 10+ withering damage with Lightning Strikes Twice, that's not going to immediately reset it allowing her to use it again? She'll have to make another withering attack that gets 10+ damage to reset Lightning Strikes Twice?
                          No, Charms can reset themselves.

                          Also, what happens if your initiative changes while halfway through a multi-attack charm?
                          For example, she uses Hammer on Iron to make multiple attacks, but then after the first attack interrupts with Lightning Strikes Twice and does a withering attack. Her initiative goes up; does this affect the following Hammer on Iron attacks' damage? I assume not, as the damage on those was calculated before the Lightning Strikes Twice attack.
                          The text provides no real guidance here, but I think the best approach is the one that tracks to how withering attacks usually work—add or subtract that Initiative damage from the total Initiative that Solar has invested in his remaining attacks, and redivide the modified total up evenly among the remaining attacks. It's enough of an edge case that I don't expect anything to go horribly awry if a Storyteller decides to skip that because bluh too much math.
                          Last edited by Robert Vance; 03-02-2018, 04:36 PM.


                          Developer for Exalted

                          Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                          Robert Vance's Patreon

                          Comment


                          • Originally posted by Saur Ops Specialist View Post

                            Arms, of course!
                            Pfah! A trifling distinction.


                            Developer for Exalted

                            Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                            Robert Vance's Patreon

                            Comment


                            • Originally posted by Robert Vance View Post
                              For an octopus, you're using your tentacles to move yourself around on land.
                              ​No I meant if you saw them as looking as squishy as they do in real... never mind.

                              Errrmm...

                              ​Are either of the upcoming books going to have maps?


                              I have approximate knowledge of many things.
                              Watch me play Dark Souls III (completed)
                              https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLDtbr08HW8RW4jOHN881YA3yRZBV4lpYw Watch me play Breath of the Wild (updated 12/03)

                              Comment


                              • With the bestiary book and Adversaries of the Righteous, I don't know if you'd have access to this info or not, but do you know how many more entries they're set to get?

                                As someone who's kind of waiting for the all-in-one PDF version to go through, I'm just wondering how much longer it's likely going to be before I'm going to be able to see the shinies without having to piecemeal it.

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X