Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask the Devs

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Originally posted by armyofwhispers View Post
    What, if anything, sticks out in your minds as parts of 2nd edition that were better presented or more useful than their 1st edition presentation?
    No great examples come to mind, although that's not to say there aren't any.

    EDIT: Having had some time to think about it, I greatly prefer the depiction of Luna in Glories of the Most High to any take on her in First Edition.
    Last edited by Robert Vance; 06-13-2018, 12:18 PM.


    Developer for Exalted

    Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

    Robert Vance's Patreon

    Comment


    • Originally posted by The Wizard of Oz View Post
      I've just got the 1st ed bundle of pdfs from the backer. I've read the aspect books a fair bit before, but only skimmed my friend's copy of 1st ed DB and Outcastes. The main difference I remember with 2nd ed was that 1st ed DB had stuff about festivals and what colour clothes people wore, and 1st ed Lookshy was written in less positive a way.

      Is there any particular part of 1st ed Dragonblood (or Outcastes, or the Aspect books) that you recommend as still being useful in 3rd ed? Or that you yourself were inspired by, even if it changed a bit?
      While the First Edition books aren't going to be 100% accurate to Third Edition, they played a major role in inspiring it.

      Exalted: The Dragon-Blooded was our primary source text for What Fire Has Wrought and The Realm, especially with regards to the Realm's history and society. While there are definitely places we've changed its presentation, it remains our starting point.

      The Aspect Books - in addition to making a really good read - were used as biographical references for the characters detailed in them, like Mnemon and Tepet Ejava.

      The Outcastes provided our source material for Lookshy, although it probably changed the most on account of Ex3's revised depiction of "magitech." It's also the source text for the depiction of Forest Witches coming up in the Dragon-Blooded Companion.

      Blood and Salt is notable for its depictions of the satrapy of An-Teng and the Lintha headquarters of Bluehaven, although you won't see those until Across the Eight Directions.

      Thousand Correct Actions is just neat - a pastiche of Sun Tzu written from a Shogunate perspective.


      Developer for Exalted

      Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

      Robert Vance's Patreon

      Comment


      • I had a couple of questions about the Impervious Sphere of Water spell, from What Fire Hath Wrought.

        First, if it's not your control spell, can you move with it? The spell says that the caster can only take reflexive actions, which includes standard movement (but not things like Rush or Disengage). The control spell effect says it allows you to take movement actions, and that the sphere follows you. I'm confused if the sphere following you is supposed to apply only to the control spell, or all castings. The way I see it, there are three possible interpretations:
        1) If the spell isn't your control spell, its immobile, and the caster can take only reflexive actions, which don't include the standard reflexive movement, meaning they have to stand at the center of the sphere. If the sphere is your control spell, it moves with you, and you can take any of the movement actions without ending it.
        2) The sphere moves with you even if its not your control spell. You can take the standard reflexive movement, moving the sphere with you. Having it as a control spell is the same, except you can also take the other, non-reflexive movement actions.
        3) The sphere is immobile or moves as you wish. The caster can move reflexively, even if it's not their control spell, and can either have the sphere follow them or stay where they cast it. Control spell is similar, but with non-reflexive movement actions allowed.

        Which of these is correct?

        Second, the distortion effect seems a little lethal for the caster, at least if they can't leave the sphere - making the water unbreathable basically means that unless you've got a way to be immune to drowning, you're sunk (no pun intended). Is that the intent, or is it balanced based on the assumption that the caster can leave the sphere? If that's the case, then the control spell effect might need to be clarified, since as written, it seems like the sphere would always follow them.

        Comment


        • Originally posted by Robert Vance View Post
          No great examples come to mind, although that's not to say there aren't any.

          EDIT: Having had some time to think about it, I greatly prefer the depiction of Luna in Glories of the Most High to any take on her in First Edition.
          Autochthonia and how to represent its potential contact with Creation perhaps?


          Check out my expansion to the Realm of Brass and Shadow

          Comment


          • Originally posted by Kelly Pedersen View Post
            I had a couple of questions about the Impervious Sphere of Water spell, from What Fire Hath Wrought.

            First, if it's not your control spell, can you move with it? The spell says that the caster can only take reflexive actions, which includes standard movement (but not things like Rush or Disengage). The control spell effect says it allows you to take movement actions, and that the sphere follows you. I'm confused if the sphere following you is supposed to apply only to the control spell, or all castings. The way I see it, there are three possible interpretations:
            1) If the spell isn't your control spell, its immobile, and the caster can take only reflexive actions, which don't include the standard reflexive movement, meaning they have to stand at the center of the sphere. If the sphere is your control spell, it moves with you, and you can take any of the movement actions without ending it.
            2) The sphere moves with you even if its not your control spell. You can take the standard reflexive movement, moving the sphere with you. Having it as a control spell is the same, except you can also take the other, non-reflexive movement actions.
            3) The sphere is immobile or moves as you wish. The caster can move reflexively, even if it's not their control spell, and can either have the sphere follow them or stay where they cast it. Control spell is similar, but with non-reflexive movement actions allowed.

            Which of these is correct?
            Normally, you can take the standard reflexive move action, but the sphere doesn't move with you. Having it as your control lets you do stuff like rush and disengage without breaking the spell, in addition to having it move with you.

            Second, the distortion effect seems a little lethal for the caster, at least if they can't leave the sphere - making the water unbreathable basically means that unless you've got a way to be immune to drowning, you're sunk (no pun intended). Is that the intent, or is it balanced based on the assumption that the caster can leave the sphere? If that's the case, then the control spell effect might need to be clarified, since as written, it seems like the sphere would always follow them.
            The sorcerer can roll to escape a distorted sphere just like anyone else caught in it.

            I'll see if I can't clarify both those points a bit.


            Developer for Exalted

            Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

            Robert Vance's Patreon

            Comment


            • Originally posted by glamourweaver View Post

              Autochthonia and how to represent its potential contact with Creation perhaps?
              Another good one. Compass: Autochthonia was really, really good.


              Developer for Exalted

              Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

              Robert Vance's Patreon

              Comment


              • Will Fangs at the Gate have a “spend Anima Banner for Godzilla breath” Charm?


                Formerly Inugami, formerly Tornado Wolf.

                My RWBY Blog on Tumblr: Semblances, Kingdoms, Grimm, and more!

                Comment


                • Originally posted by Sunder the Gold View Post
                  Will Fangs at the Gate have a “spend Anima Banner for Godzilla breath” Charm?
                  I'd be hard-pressed to justify that as a Lunar Charm.


                  Developer for Exalted

                  Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                  Robert Vance's Patreon

                  Comment


                  • Originally posted by TGUEIROS View Post

                    He already corrected himself on that a few posts later.
                    I dont see any correction that says actions now exclude applying static values?

                    I am simply wanting to know if this is a new ruling as it would impact the reading of any future content written. As in the core book application of static values are expressed as being actions. So I take the phrase "All actions" to include them.

                    Comment


                    • Originally posted by Robert Vance View Post
                      I'd be hard-pressed to justify that as a Lunar Charm.
                      Interesting insect anatomy stuffs....

                      Comment


                      • Originally posted by Robert Vance View Post
                        I'd be hard-pressed to justify that as a Lunar Charm.
                        Nothing like Apocalypse Flare Attack or Blazing Solar Bolt?

                        Can Lunars at least dump their anima levels into an ear-shattering roar?


                        Formerly Inugami, formerly Tornado Wolf.

                        My RWBY Blog on Tumblr: Semblances, Kingdoms, Grimm, and more!

                        Comment


                        • Originally posted by Sunder the Gold View Post

                          Nothing like Apocalypse Flare Attack or Blazing Solar Bolt?

                          Can Lunars at least dump their anima levels into an ear-shattering roar?
                          Lion's Roar Rebuke has a good chance of coming back in some form or another.


                          Developer for Exalted

                          Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                          Robert Vance's Patreon

                          Comment


                          • Can you give us a few examples of things that NA rank Artifacts can do vs. some things they definitely cannot do?


                            ....

                            Comment


                            • Originally posted by BrilliantRain View Post
                              Can you give us a few examples of things that NA rank Artifacts can do vs. some things they definitely cannot do?
                              Can Do: Raise up new continents. Unleash devastating offensive power to unmake the armies of your enemy. Allow a sorcerer to master spells of a circle higher than she could normally initiate into.

                              Can't Do: Time travel. Resurrection. Creating new Exaltations ex nihilo. Guarantee a happy ending or a peaceful dharma. Things the Storyteller doesn't want to be possible at all in the game.
                              Last edited by Robert Vance; 06-13-2018, 05:15 PM.


                              Developer for Exalted

                              Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                              Robert Vance's Patreon

                              Comment


                              • Will we need a charm to express extreme applications of natural abilities of an animal?
                                Like a spider web that can tangle a warstrider or a corrosive poison that can melt walls.

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X