Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask the Devs

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Originally posted by wern212 View Post



    If this was changed or I'm misreading this, I would be happy to be corrected, but I'm somewhat confused right now.
    Whoops; that's what I get for answering without looking at the book x_x


    Developer for Exalted

    Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

    Robert Vance's Patreon

    Comment


    • How does Majestic Radiant Presence work with Defend Other?

      Solar Steve has Majestic Radiant Presence and Crane Style. He's hanging out with Lunar Lovegood and Dragon-Blooded Dave when they get into a fight with some bad guys and Steve pops Majestic Radiant Presence. On his turn he declares Defend Other on Lovegood and plans to use the reflexive Defend Other for Dave. Under what circumstances would their attackers have to pay the willpower cost?

      a) Only if they direct their attacks against Steve himself?
      b1) If they direct their attacks against Lovegood, who Steve is standing in front of defiantly, and decide to let their attacks hit Steve instead of trying to hit Lovegood with the threshold successes?
      b2) If they attack Lovegood and use the threshold successes to avoid Steve and only hit lovegood?
      c1) If they attack Dave and suddenly find Steve in the way and are okay with hitting him?
      c2) If they attack Dave, suddenly find Steve in the way, and try to push through Steve's defenses and only hit Dave?

      My intuition is that both the a and b scenarios would cause the willpower spend based on it being obvious in the fiction that attacking Lovegood is pushing through Steve, but that C is a more iffy case in both sub-scenarios. How would you rule these?

      Comment


      • Quick clarification question for Empowering Shout.

        Originally posted by Exalted Core pg.370
        This Charm is a simple turn-length action in which the Solar exhorts a character to his true greatness. Such a character gains a +1 non-Charm bonus to one Attribute and Ability until his next turn.
        Is that supposed to mean "until the end of his next turn"? Otherwise, the bonus won't take effect for any normal actions, simply defenses and whatever the target character might be able to perform reflexively.

        Comment


        • Is there a going to be an advance pdf for What fire Has Wrought?

          Comment


          • Would it be reasonable to allow a criminal type Night Caste to just use Larceny instead of Socialize when calculating Guile?

            If not, would a 1 to 2 dot merit be appropriate or is this more the territory of a Charm?


            ....

            Comment


            • What are the Nine Foxfires mentioned in Arms?


              .

              Comment


              • Are River Dragons based on the Deinosuchus, Mosasaurs or Liopleurodons? A friend and i don't know which it is.
                Last edited by GenericMaleNPC01; 10-16-2018, 04:20 AM.


                .

                Comment


                • Also, Saga Beast Virtue says it grants (Essence) mutations to a familiar. Is this mutations base or dots of supernatural merits?


                  .

                  Comment


                  • A friend and I are having a debate about Heavenly Guardian Defense, specifically about to what degree it protects against and defeats incoming effects like area of effect attacks and environmental hazards. When used against these kinds of things, does it only protect the Solar, does it completely defeat the effect(like disrupting a tornado or cancelling out an explosion), or somewhere in between?

                    Comment


                    • Order-Affirming Blow says it "With this Charm, the Solar can shatter the twisting effects of magic and the Wyld, stripping away all such effects and restoring a target to his natural state." Would this rid someone of the cursing effects of sorcery like the Spell Corrupted Words?

                      Comment


                      • Is there some way to make a spell into a control spell outside of selecting it with a Sorcery initiation Charm?

                        Comment


                        • Can a Lunar perform the sacred hunt on a Behemoth to gain their shape?


                          Also, in regards to granting a character a supernatural ability via sorcery, should that be represented as a special attack/merit, or like a charm and take motes?
                          Last edited by ReshyShira; 10-17-2018, 08:28 AM.

                          Comment


                          • Robert Vance I have a question for Wood Dragon Style. Mind over body Meditation has you roll lesser of Essence or Stamina. I do not see anything that says this can't be modified by other effects. So if a lunar gets the charm and is essence 4 with a stamina of 3, just as an example, could they use the stamina excellency on it? Alternatively, could the dice pool be stunted by the player or a willpower be spent? Just wondering if a caveat needs to be put there or not.

                            Comment


                            • Originally posted by Kell_Tamer View Post
                              Robert Vance I have a question for Wood Dragon Style. Mind over body Meditation has you roll lesser of Essence or Stamina. I do not see anything that says this can't be modified by other effects. So if a lunar gets the charm and is essence 4 with a stamina of 3, just as an example, could they use the stamina excellency on it? Alternatively, could the dice pool be stunted by the player or a willpower be spent? Just wondering if a caveat needs to be put there or not.
                              The intent is that it can't be modified, although that particular Charm's slated for some tweaks in the final stages.


                              Developer for Exalted

                              Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                              Robert Vance's Patreon

                              Comment


                              • Originally posted by ReshyShira View Post
                                Can a Lunar perform the sacred hunt on a Behemoth to gain their shape?
                                No. Only humans and animals.

                                Also, in regards to granting a character a supernatural ability via sorcery, should that be represented as a special attack/merit, or like a charm and take motes?
                                It can be represented using whatever mechanical widget is best suited to representing that power—there's no particular requirement that it be one or the other.


                                Developer for Exalted

                                Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                                Robert Vance's Patreon

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X