Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask the Devs

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Originally posted by Kell_Tamer View Post
    Robert Vance I have a question for Wood Dragon Style. Mind over body Meditation has you roll lesser of Essence or Stamina. I do not see anything that says this can't be modified by other effects. So if a lunar gets the charm and is essence 4 with a stamina of 3, just as an example, could they use the stamina excellency on it? Alternatively, could the dice pool be stunted by the player or a willpower be spent? Just wondering if a caveat needs to be put there or not.
    The intent is that it can't be modified, although that particular Charm's slated for some tweaks in the final stages.


    Developer for Exalted

    Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

    Robert Vance's Patreon

    Comment


    • Originally posted by ReshyShira View Post
      Can a Lunar perform the sacred hunt on a Behemoth to gain their shape?
      No. Only humans and animals.

      Also, in regards to granting a character a supernatural ability via sorcery, should that be represented as a special attack/merit, or like a charm and take motes?
      It can be represented using whatever mechanical widget is best suited to representing that power—there's no particular requirement that it be one or the other.


      Developer for Exalted

      Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

      Robert Vance's Patreon

      Comment


      • Originally posted by shkspr1048 View Post
        Is there some way to make a spell into a control spell outside of selecting it with a Sorcery initiation Charm?
        I don't believe there is.


        Developer for Exalted

        Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

        Robert Vance's Patreon

        Comment


        • Originally posted by WalkingEye View Post
          Order-Affirming Blow says it "With this Charm, the Solar can shatter the twisting effects of magic and the Wyld, stripping away all such effects and restoring a target to his natural state." Would this rid someone of the cursing effects of sorcery like the Spell Corrupted Words?
          No, I believe it's only intended to negate magic that transforms you in some way.


          Developer for Exalted

          Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

          Robert Vance's Patreon

          Comment


          • Originally posted by Nichos View Post
            A friend and I are having a debate about Heavenly Guardian Defense, specifically about to what degree it protects against and defeats incoming effects like area of effect attacks and environmental hazards. When used against these kinds of things, does it only protect the Solar, does it completely defeat the effect(like disrupting a tornado or cancelling out an explosion), or somewhere in between?
            Normally, it only protects you. Used together with defend other actions, it could potentially protect them as well.


            Developer for Exalted

            Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

            Robert Vance's Patreon

            Comment


            • Originally posted by GenericMaleNPC01 View Post
              Also, Saga Beast Virtue says it grants (Essence) mutations to a familiar. Is this mutations base or dots of supernatural merits?
              My best guess is that it's that many total mutations, not that many dots.


              Developer for Exalted

              Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

              Robert Vance's Patreon

              Comment


              • Originally posted by GenericMaleNPC01 View Post
                Are River Dragons based on the Deinosuchus, Mosasaurs or Liopleurodons? A friend and i don't know which it is.
                Quoth Lea:

                The river-dragon is from Exalted 1e and may or may not correspond to any particular bit of prehistoric megafauna.



                Developer for Exalted

                Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                Robert Vance's Patreon

                Comment


                • Originally posted by GenericMaleNPC01 View Post
                  What are the Nine Foxfires mentioned in Arms?
                  Not very nice.


                  Developer for Exalted

                  Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                  Robert Vance's Patreon

                  Comment


                  • Originally posted by BrilliantRain View Post
                    Would it be reasonable to allow a criminal type Night Caste to just use Larceny instead of Socialize when calculating Guile?

                    If not, would a 1 to 2 dot merit be appropriate or is this more the territory of a Charm?
                    Spurious Presence already lets you do that.


                    Developer for Exalted

                    Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                    Robert Vance's Patreon

                    Comment


                    • Originally posted by Fiikragg View Post
                      Is there a going to be an advance pdf for What fire Has Wrought?
                      I'm not 100% certain on that end of things, but I believe it'll work like Arms did, with a preliminary PDF going out so that folks can spot errors and a final one after that.


                      Developer for Exalted

                      Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                      Robert Vance's Patreon

                      Comment


                      • Originally posted by Ketrus View Post
                        Quick clarification question for Empowering Shout.



                        Is that supposed to mean "until the end of his next turn"? Otherwise, the bonus won't take effect for any normal actions, simply defenses and whatever the target character might be able to perform reflexively.
                        "Until the end of his next turn" is probably the most sensible interpretation of that.


                        Developer for Exalted

                        Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                        Robert Vance's Patreon

                        Comment


                        • Originally posted by BestCaseSurvival View Post
                          How does Majestic Radiant Presence work with Defend Other?

                          Solar Steve has Majestic Radiant Presence and Crane Style. He's hanging out with Lunar Lovegood and Dragon-Blooded Dave when they get into a fight with some bad guys and Steve pops Majestic Radiant Presence. On his turn he declares Defend Other on Lovegood and plans to use the reflexive Defend Other for Dave. Under what circumstances would their attackers have to pay the willpower cost?

                          a) Only if they direct their attacks against Steve himself?
                          b1) If they direct their attacks against Lovegood, who Steve is standing in front of defiantly, and decide to let their attacks hit Steve instead of trying to hit Lovegood with the threshold successes?
                          b2) If they attack Lovegood and use the threshold successes to avoid Steve and only hit lovegood?
                          c1) If they attack Dave and suddenly find Steve in the way and are okay with hitting him?
                          c2) If they attack Dave, suddenly find Steve in the way, and try to push through Steve's defenses and only hit Dave?

                          My intuition is that both the a and b scenarios would cause the willpower spend based on it being obvious in the fiction that attacking Lovegood is pushing through Steve, but that C is a more iffy case in both sub-scenarios. How would you rule these?
                          Long story short: Majestic Radiant Presence used by the guardian won't prohibit attacking the ward, but it will prohibit subsequently redirecting your attack against the guardian if you beat his Parry.


                          Developer for Exalted

                          Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                          Robert Vance's Patreon

                          Comment


                          • Originally posted by Robert Vance View Post
                            The intent is that it can't be modified, although that particular Charm's slated for some tweaks in the final stages.

                            Awesome, thanks for the quick reply. I really like the esoteric nature of wood dragon style as its less about being punchy and more feels like secret kung fu techniques. Followup, with soul marking style, the stylist is always now considered aiming with regards to wood dragon attacks on the target if that target is soul marked. Do mixed martial arts combos benefit? Like say I use it on a spirit then follow up with spirit wracking method, eyes of the wood dragon and falling crescent strike from white reaper to make the attack piercing, and add extra damage? or will it only work with strictly wood dragon charms? (Same goes for the flurry of aim and disengage in air aura with Wind Dragon Speed and any potential combos)

                            Had another question with regards to the Artifact Fist of Titans and Mammoth Slam Quake, the Strength + Melee roll, would it break horribly if an earth dragon stylist used the goremaul and the evocation used Strength + Martial Arts? It doesn't seem like the type of thing that can be supplemented beyond the Excellency unless I am missing something.

                            Thanks again!

                            Last edited by Kell_Tamer; 10-17-2018, 07:43 PM. Reason: Had another question and didn't want to double post.

                            Comment


                            • Originally posted by Robert Vance View Post
                              Not very nice.
                              Is it possible we will get more info on them at some point? And if so, do you have any idea on which possible splat is likely?

                              Comment


                              • Originally posted by GenericMaleNPC01 View Post
                                Is it possible we will get more info on them at some point?
                                It's possible that the surviving Foxfires will turn up in print at some point. No idea what book, though.

                                Originally posted by GenericMaleNPC01 View Post
                                And if so, do you have any idea on which possible splat is likely?
                                They probably aren't Exalts.


                                Developer for Exalted.

                                Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X