Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Storytelling Sidereals: what to do and what not to do?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Storytelling Sidereals: what to do and what not to do?

Lurking around the forum in the last few weeks I read several posts about Sidereals that reminded me why they are probably my favorite splat and actually made me want to run Exalted and giving a shot at a small Sidereal game. A brief campaign, nothing too big, just to have some fun. I'm speaking about 2nd Edition Sidereals, since those are the books I currently have.

Since my experience at running Exalted games is admittedly very limited, I'm writing this post looking for any suggestion whatsoever I could use to prepare and make this sort of chronicle work. Either from a mechanical or narrative perspective, anything you think that could help is welcome.

I've years of experience as a Storyteller but I'm a newbie when it comes to Exalted and I this is truly a new territory to me, also considering that I've always heard 2nd Edition Sidereals have some issues to work around.

Thanks in advance!

Cinder's Comprehensive Collection of Creations - Homebrew Hub
    Currently writing: "Dark Era: The Forest That Weeps". When not busy writing homebrew, I also try to write CoD fiction. (All paused until August)

Waiting feverishly as instructed

My suggested Sidereal House Rules:

1. Don't make your PCs buy colleges separately. Make Astrology Colleges equal to the applicable Ability. If Suzu Serenity has a five in performance, then she gets five dice in the Musician College.

2. Give your PCs one non rolled Resplendent Destiny at Character Creation. Ideally this would be the Destiny, the PC uses to conduct business in Yu-Shan, but that may be useless depending on the game. Still haven't figured out how many points this free Destiny should have.

3. Suggest your players favor either Martial Arts, Occult, or both.