First Time Storyteller Questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Time Storyteller Questions

Heya! So I've had a big ol' crush on Exalted for a long time, and I recently got the opportunity to run my group through Tomb of Dreams. We're digging into the second half of it tomorrow, and so far the response has been super positive! People seem very interested in making this a regular thing!

Which is both exciting and scary, since my only experience as a DM is from running some Pathfinder adventure modules years ago. This is my first time working with Exalted - and the first time any of my players are playing Exalted.

So I could really use any advice y'all more experienced folk might have to offer!

To the Storytellers out there:
    • What are some things you'd have liked to know when you were starting out?
    • Any hard lessons you'd like to pass on?
    • How did you put together your campaign?
    • Any advice on putting together your own setting? What worked? What didn't?
    To the players out there:
    • What do you like in a Storyteller?
    • What do you dislike in a Storyteller?
    Tomb of Dreams has been a great learning experience so far all around. I've got some specific questions after our first session:

What is the right way to handle familiars? One of my players made a Night with a cool anime hacker vibe, and wanted a familiar that's a swarm of little ball lightning things. I had them take the Familiar merit at three dots, but aside from the merit text itself, there's no guidelines for familiars that I can find anywhere! Eventually I discovered this sun mouse thing, and did up a stat block heavily based on that. I'd really appreciate any tips or comments!