Artifact Costs

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Artifact Costs

I've been studying the EX3E manual for a few months now and something is still confusing the heck out of me. How are artifacts actually costed out? I haven't been able to find any guidelines in the books for this that is consistent. Is there something I am missing or some reference made by veterans that can give me some insight into how the Artifacts merit actually works?

What exactly do you mean? If you mean how artifacts get dots, it depends on what type of item it is and effect.

Comment

I guess my confusion is that i don't see a cost for a "Basic" artifact weapon or armor, and I cant tell why some of the pre-written ones are costed out the way they are.

Comment

There are no “basic” Artifact weapons or Armor. Each of them is either a storied piece of antiquity with its own legend or the newly made pinnacle of a Smith’s craft, fully ready to shake the foundations of creation.

All of them presumably have evocations and all start at 3 dots.

Comment

Originally posted by Fizzlemeyer View Post
          I guess my confusion is that i don't see a cost for a "Basic" artifact weapon or armor, and I cant tell why some of the pre-written ones are costed out the way they are.
          In this edition, there isn't such a thing. Each artifact starts at 3 and comes with evocations. They go up to 5. 3 are just basic powers while 5 is extremely powerful. Arms of the chosen has a sample set of what the difference between them is.

Comment

Artifact 3: increases its wielders capabilities and generally makes them better at what they do

Artifact 4: unlocks a new playstyle or powers that engage a new method of play (basically anything that grants flight falls in to this category for instance)

Artifact 5: world shaking wonders of such power that they generally define any scene they are active in. Things like creating vast thunderstorms or calling up volcanoes go here.