Third Edition in Retrospect, Thus Far

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Third Edition in Retrospect, Thus Far

I've had some experience running a Third Edition Exalted game now, and I've had some time away from that game to reflect on what I really liked about how this edition has done things, and what I would have liked to see done differently. Things that have made my game better, and things that made my game worse.

Pros
    1) The combat system was fairly intuitive for the players to pick up on. Not all of them exactly liked it, but that's because said player is a Pathfinder/D&D 3.5 system junkie who self-admittedly values mechanics over 'make believe'. For the rest of them, it was easy enough to dig into the base mechanics and play around with them to satisfaction.

2) The setting as it exists right now has just enough interesting things for me to poke at and flesh out on my own that I was able to get players invested in building the world around them up. Not a lot of people made Lore rolls to do so unfortunately since it's so counter to how every other RPG we've ever played did it, but we made some good use of it anyway.

3) It did a great job of making the players feel empowered to take on whatever it is they built their characters to do well, right out the gate.

Cons
    1) Solar Charms are a bloated mess to maneuver through. Individual Charms feel like they don't do a lot on their own, and require building along with a bunch of others to do so. This by itself wouldn't be all that bad, but it dramatically slowed down play when everyone had to keep referring back to the book to figure out how to play their characters even when we all knew how the base mechanics worked. Eventually I just got to copy-pasting Charms out of the book to reference them more easily.