No announcement yet.

The West and What Works At Your Table?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The West and What Works At Your Table?

I'm in the planning stages for a 3e game set in the west and I could use your help, lovely people. I've been out of circulation for Exalted for several years (dropped off somewhere between 2e and 2.5e) and am ready to get back in and it seems like I've missed A LOT . Chiefly what I'm looking for help with is the setting of the west and how best to handle it. I'm a veteran ST and I'm familiar with my players, but I don't know how to make a western campaign interesting for them. In the past, the west was largely out of bounds because of the group of folks I gamed with. We spend most of our time in the Scavenger Lands and the north. So what I want to know is what makes the west interesting for you? Do you play on land or at sea (and above or below the water?) most? What do you do to keep descriptions of settings interesting? How much do you gloss over travel times? How often do you let things like spirits or your characters' gender affect the story? What's the most exciting/entertaining canon location you like to play in? I've got my reading cut out for me, surely (for instance, I don't even know what The Caul is on that map I linked below), but beyond pure research and (re)familiarization with the setting and system, I want to know what makes it fun for people. I want to be a good ST.

Some stuff I'm going to be using a lot, shared here for sheer usefulness. If you've got other links I should check out, throw 'em at me
    Random Island/Location Generator for Exalted by Brilliant Rain
    Travel Times Map by ? (found it on the useful links thread)

First of all, wow. It's been a while!