Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask the Devs v2

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Originally posted by Quolise View Post
    I have a question about the setting: are the tya still a thing? And if so is it still because women can't sail the ocean for mostly mystical reasons or is there something else?
    The Tya still exist, but the reason behind that is more nuanced and historic than the 2E portrayal of Storm Mothers.


    Developer for Exalted

    Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

    Robert Vance's Patreon

    Comment


    • Originally posted by limaxophobiac View Post
      1. Is the text in Surprise Anticipation Method that the motes you get can be used to lower the commited cost of charms of scene or longer duration supposed to be a thing for all charms that return motes for a certain ability or attribute (f.ex. Preeminent Gala Knife or Devil-Queen Rapture) or is that a SAM only thing?
      It's specific to Surprise Anticipation Method. If we intend for another effect to do that, it'll specify.

      2. Myriad Graces Appeal says it lets you add "that Attribute to her base Appearance to determine how many non-Charm bonus dice her Appearance adds", do any extra appearance dice added by this count for Devil-Queen Rapture? F.ex. if you had App 5 Str 5 and stunted App + Str on a roll to intimidate someone with base Resolve 5, would you get 5m back from Devil-Queen Rapture?
      Yep.


      Developer for Exalted

      Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

      Robert Vance's Patreon

      Comment


      • Originally posted by Sith_Happens View Post
        Can a staff sling be used as a staff? I can’t think of a reason why not but the description and tags are conspicuously devoid of saying so.
        I'd guess that the staff of a staff sling isn't identical to a quarterstaff intended to be used as a hand-to-hand weapon. I'd probably say that you can use the staff-sling as a staff, but it counts as an improvised weapon—but keep in mind that's just me riffing for how I'd handle it if a player in one of my games wanted to do it, not a lofty developer pronouncement.


        Developer for Exalted

        Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

        Robert Vance's Patreon

        Comment


        • Originally posted by wern212 View Post
          In the Lunar playtest: does the duration extension offered by Endless Masquerade Affliction apply to all uses of Insidious Lunar Transformation, or only of those that transform that target into a human shape?
          It only applies to human transformations.


          Developer for Exalted

          Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

          Robert Vance's Patreon

          Comment


          • Originally posted by Pharsti View Post
            Not sure if this has been answered before, attempts to search this thread and the previous thread hasn't turned up any relevant results. Apologies if I missed something.

            Does the reflexive movement you gain from a Disengage nullify the Aim action?

            Example:
            Anathema Anne has caught Shikari Sam and Immaculate Ivory at a bad time, and engages them in combat. Anathema Anne is at Close range to both targets, and does some action. Immaculate Ivory Disengages, retreats to Short range. Shikari Sam makes a Withering Attack, dropping Anathema Anne's Initiative below all other targets.

            Shikari Sam takes his turn, and then Immaculate Ivory takes the Aim action at Anathema Anne, with a ranged weapon. Anathema Anne's turn now comes up. Using any form of valid movement, Anathema Anne attempts to move to Close with Immaculate Ivory. This triggers the reflexive movement from Immaculate Ivory's prior Disengage.
            The reflexive move of a disengage or a rush isn't something you're compelled to take—if you'd rather stay still so you can retain some positioning-based bonus, you can (but...why did you disengage/rush in the first place?)


            Developer for Exalted

            Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

            Robert Vance's Patreon

            Comment


            • Originally posted by Lanic View Post
              Increasing Strength Exercise explicitly allows the character to increase their "Strength score". It has been clarified somewhere that this does not affect caps for dice pools. What does it affect? Specifically:

              1. Does the increased Strength increase withering damage?
              Yep.

              2. Does it affect how many dice of withering damage can be added by Fire and Stones Strike (it explicitly mentions "Strength score", literally the same words are used as in ISE).
              3. Does it affect the maximal number of attacks in Iron Whirlwind Attack or Invincible Fury of the Dawn?
              4. Does it affect effects from martials arts, e.g. Tiger style, which add (Strength) withering damage?
              No. When an effect refers to your trait rating for purposes of a calculation, it means your base, unmodified rating.

              In general which Strength-based calculations take into account the modified Strength?
              Basically: a bonus dot in an Attribute is just a bonus die added on rolls will that Attribute, with three exceptions that are all "inherent effects" of an Attribute—Strength letting you satisfy feat of strength minimums, Appearance calculations to determine bonus dice added on influence rolls, and (hypothetically, I guess) Stamina being used to determine soak.

              How are the calculations affected when strength is modified by piloting a warstrider?
              They still calculate off your base traits.


              Developer for Exalted

              Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

              Robert Vance's Patreon

              Comment


              • Originally posted by limaxophobiac View Post
                So after taking the defend other action "The defending character may apply his Parry against any attacks directed at his ward until his next turn.", I've read this 'may' as permissive but not compulory; for any attack against the ward he might apply his parry but he might also choose not to. So if say 2 solars used War Lion Stance on eachother for any attack against either they might choose who of them defends to prevent enemies from focusing either one of them.

                Is this correct or do you have to defend against any attack against your ward?
                You're correct; it's not compulsory.


                Developer for Exalted

                Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                Robert Vance's Patreon

                Comment


                • Originally posted by Elkovash View Post
                  Something that came up in a recent game;

                  Should a character using a savaging action from a grapple be able to activate a simple charm for use in that attack?
                  I'd say yeah.


                  Developer for Exalted

                  Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                  Robert Vance's Patreon

                  Comment


                  • Originally posted by Jefepato View Post
                    So, bonus dice from Appearance on social influence rolls are determined before any bonuses to Resolve are factored in (per corebook p. 218).

                    Are they also determined before penalties to Resolve are factored in?

                    For example, when a sorcerer trances his victim with Peacock Shadow Eyes for -2 Resolve, is he getting an additional two dice from his Appearance? (Assuming, of course, that his Appearance is at least equal to the victim's base Resolve.)

                    I had been assuming that the intended rule was "just use the base Resolve without modifiers," but the text does say "bonuses" specifically.
                    I think "before any modifiers" was the intent.


                    Developer for Exalted

                    Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                    Robert Vance's Patreon

                    Comment


                    • Originally posted by soul_porpoise View Post
                      If someone is knocked prone while flying, do they fall to the ground regardless of how many range bands they were up, are just knocked off centre in the air and still take the prone penalty or something else?

                      Thanks.
                      There's no textual definition for the interaction of flying and getting knocked prone. I'd be opposed to "automatically fall to the ground," although dropping one range band makes sense.


                      Developer for Exalted

                      Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                      Robert Vance's Patreon

                      Comment


                      • Speaking of storm mothers, do the Inland, White, and/or Dreaming Seas have them or only the Great Western Ocean?

                        Comment


                        • Originally posted by Robert Vance View Post
                          The reflexive move of a disengage or a rush isn't something you're compelled to take—if you'd rather stay still so you can retain some positioning-based bonus, you can (but...why did you disengage/rush in the first place?)

                          So the end result is 'if you choose to move, you lose the Aim bonus', then?

                          I was mainly curious if you could choose to take the reflexive movement, and still keep the Aim bonus - that would make it a potentially useful tactic against highly evasive melee combatants. Keep out of range while also gaining bonus accuracy, at the cost of rate of fire, essentially. Other rule clarification have made the important distinction between the Reflexive Move Action, Charm-based new instance of movement, and Reflexive out-of-turn movement (like Rush and Disengage). I wanted to see if any of that distinction applied to the movement limitation on Aiming. However, if you don't keep the Aim bonus (which does follow from a direct reading of the rules), then it's only valuable if you have an ally who can prevent the enemy form moving in some way.

                          Thanks for clarifying!

                          Comment


                          • Originally posted by Pharsti View Post


                            So the end result is 'if you choose to move, you lose the Aim bonus', then?

                            I was mainly curious if you could choose to take the reflexive movement, and still keep the Aim bonus - that would make it a potentially useful tactic against highly evasive melee combatants. Keep out of range while also gaining bonus accuracy, at the cost of rate of fire, essentially. Other rule clarification have made the important distinction between the Reflexive Move Action, Charm-based new instance of movement, and Reflexive out-of-turn movement (like Rush and Disengage). I wanted to see if any of that distinction applied to the movement limitation on Aiming. However, if you don't keep the Aim bonus (which does follow from a direct reading of the rules), then it's only valuable if you have an ally who can prevent the enemy form moving in some way.

                            Thanks for clarifying!
                            Moving doesn't automatically make you lose the Aim bonus - it's only if you move out of your weapon's range.


                            Developer for Exalted

                            Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                            Robert Vance's Patreon

                            Comment


                            • Originally posted by Sith_Happens View Post
                              Speaking of storm mothers, do the Inland, White, and/or Dreaming Seas have them or only the Great Western Ocean?
                              Eric will know better than me, but I don't think they're limited to just the one ocean.

                              The Dreaming Sea can have little a storm mothers, as a treat


                              Developer for Exalted

                              Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                              Robert Vance's Patreon

                              Comment


                              • The doubles made by Cunning Anglerfish Decoy, can they be used for stuff like being extras in a play, carrying your palanquin, humming in a backing group, holding things, having an orgy with yourself (I'm asking for a friend!), etc? Or is it just distractions?


                                I run... Lunars: The Apocalypse! Exalted 3rd edition. Fimbulwinter is upon the world as an Ice Age begins, and only six young Lunar heroes have a chance of saving humanity.

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X