Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask the Devs v2

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Originally posted by The Wizard of Oz View Post
    The doubles made by Cunning Anglerfish Decoy, can they be used for stuff like being extras in a play, carrying your palanquin, humming in a backing group, holding things, having an orgy with yourself (I'm asking for a friend!), etc? Or is it just distractions?
    You'd want Ant-and-Starfish Trick for most of that. They won't act independently of what you're doing with just Cunning Anglerfish Decoy.


    Developer for Exalted

    Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

    Robert Vance's Patreon

    Comment


    • Is it possible for a soulsteel to...not have any souls in it? And is it a requirement for the soul to be in eternal torment?


      The no.1 fan of Demetheus. I also draw Exalted things and is looking for commission works ~

      Comment


      • Originally posted by Robert Vance View Post
        Moving doesn't automatically make you lose the Aim bonus - it's only if you move out of your weapon's range.
        Well darn, now I'm confused again.

        Specifically in regards the description on pg. 196, it says "Characters cannot move and aim during the same round without some form of magic to permit it."

        Does that apply to all movement, or are things like Non-turn Reflexive movement (Disengage, mainly) exempted at all? In the basic scenario I posted (Disengage on Turn 1, Aim on Turn 2, Enemy closes later in same round, before Turn/Round 3), what happens?

        1) You can't move because you aimed. No free movement from prior Disengage, you must keep aiming
        2) You can move, but doing so ruins your Aim action, because no moving and aiming in the same round (or, choose not to move, keep Aiming)
        3) You can move, and you are still Aiming (assuming no other range changes due to moving away from target of Aim)

        As an added wrinkle, the restriction on movement is in the same round, rather than turn. You wind up in a weird edge case where a low-initiative character aims, the round ends, and at the top of the next round, this scenario plays out, triggering a Disengage-based reflexive move. Assuming your movement options in in some way limited (Option 1 or 2, here), should 'round' be taken as 'from when you take the aim action, until your next turn'?

        Apologies if my question is getting a bit pedantic, I wasn't as clear as I thought I was with my original scenario.

        Comment


        • Hi guys, I had a question about evocations + charms
          Let's say I use Rampage-Berserker Attack (core 282) against an enemy while using Mela's Coil evocation Wind-Rider Swiftness (Arms of the Chosen, 108) and Heaven and Earth Gauntlets evocation Falling Star Fists (AotC 36). We all know how RBA works, but WRS adds dexterity bonus dice to the damage to the first attack and FSF adds strength dice to the damage roll.
          So, how should all of these combined work on the post-soak damage pool?

          A) (1 + extra successes to the attack) * (strength x 2 + 10 [HaEG damage] + dex - enemy soak)
          B) (1 + extra successes to the attack) * [(strength x 2 + 10) - enemy soak ] + dex
          C) (1 + extra successes to the attack) * [(strength + 10) - enemy soak] + strength + dex
          D) Any other unexpected way that would require less Maths?

          Thanks in advance
          Last edited by Lerinome; 01-21-2020, 03:12 PM. Reason: Corrected the soaking calculation

          Comment


          • Originally posted by Sith_Happens View Post
            Speaking of storm mothers, do the Inland, White, and/or Dreaming Seas have them or only the Great Western Ocean?
            Originally posted by Robert Vance View Post
            Eric will know better than me, but I don't think they're limited to just the one ocean.
            My current thoughts are that storm mothers can be found elsewhere, but those in the Inland Sea and the western Dreaming Sea keep their heads down to avoid Immaculate attention. We may have another look at this if it comes up in a future book.


            Developer for Exalted.

            Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

            Comment


            • Originally posted by Jen View Post
              Is it possible for a soulsteel to...not have any souls in it? And is it a requirement for the soul to be in eternal torment?
              Soulsteel is indeed steel made with tormented souls. As with demon summoning, using it or not is intended to be a meaningful, thematic decision for your character. If you allow the creation of soulsteel by other means in your game, I recommend that such alternate methods involve some equivalent sort of irrevocable harm.


              Developer for Exalted.

              Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

              Comment


              • Originally posted by Eric Minton View Post

                My current thoughts are that storm mothers can be found elsewhere, but those in the Inland Sea and the western Dreaming Sea keep their heads down to avoid Immaculate attention. We may have another look at this if it comes up in a future book.
                Is it possible for storm gods in other parts of the world to just have different physical and emotional characteristics to storm mothers?

                After all, it's not as if storms are the same all over the world; I kind of always assumed the Western storm mothers were a reflection of the kinds of storms one gets in equivalent climates in reality. Gods like storm mothers in the Inland Sea feels odd to me when I kind of expect the Inland Sea to be much more placid even without the intervention of wizards and Immaculates.


                I have approximate knowledge of many things.
                Watch me play Dark Souls III (completed)
                https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLDtbr08HW8RW4jOHN881YA3yRZBV4lpYw Watch me play Breath of the Wild (updated 12/03)

                Comment


                • Is Salamander's Tail Feint (p352/353) activated when someone declares a decisive attack against you, or after suffering damage and deciding to take a crippling injury?
                  Last edited by The Wizard of Oz; 01-21-2020, 03:25 PM.


                  I run... Lunars: The Apocalypse! Exalted 3rd edition. Fimbulwinter is upon the world as an Ice Age begins, and only six young Lunar heroes have a chance of saving humanity.

                  Comment


                  • Originally posted by Isator Levi View Post

                    Is it possible for storm gods in other parts of the world to just have different physical and emotional characteristics to storm mothers?

                    After all, it's not as if storms are the same all over the world; I kind of always assumed the Western storm mothers were a reflection of the kinds of storms one gets in equivalent climates in reality. Gods like storm mothers in the Inland Sea feels odd to me when I kind of expect the Inland Sea to be much more placid even without the intervention of wizards and Immaculates.
                    Well, we haven't actually written anything on the subject, so it's up in the air. Certainly you should handle things at your table as you think best for your game.


                    Developer for Exalted.

                    Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                    Comment


                    • 1. How do successes added to your raw withering damage interact with soak? Suppose that some effect adds 3 successes to your withering damage roll (at least one), your raw damage is 15, and that enemy's soak is 16. Do you bypass soak? What happens if the soak is set to be 18? (The last question is because I'd be incline to accept 1 success = 2 soak in which case, you would still be able to get some withering damage bypassing soak).
                      Last edited by Lanic; 01-21-2020, 03:15 PM.

                      Comment


                      • Originally posted by Jen View Post
                        Is it possible for a soulsteel to...not have any souls in it?
                        That would hardly be soulsteel!

                        And is it a requirement for the soul to be in eternal torment?
                        It's not a strict requirement. Figuring out a way to ease the torment of the souls trapped in soulsteel is a thing PCs could try to figure out.


                        Developer for Exalted

                        Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                        Robert Vance's Patreon

                        Comment


                        • Originally posted by Pharsti View Post

                          Well darn, now I'm confused again.

                          Specifically in regards the description on pg. 196, it says "Characters cannot move and aim during the same round without some form of magic to permit it."

                          Does that apply to all movement, or are things like Non-turn Reflexive movement (Disengage, mainly) exempted at all? In the basic scenario I posted (Disengage on Turn 1, Aim on Turn 2, Enemy closes later in same round, before Turn/Round 3), what happens?

                          1) You can't move because you aimed. No free movement from prior Disengage, you must keep aiming
                          2) You can move, but doing so ruins your Aim action, because no moving and aiming in the same round (or, choose not to move, keep Aiming)
                          3) You can move, and you are still Aiming (assuming no other range changes due to moving away from target of Aim)

                          As an added wrinkle, the restriction on movement is in the same round, rather than turn. You wind up in a weird edge case where a low-initiative character aims, the round ends, and at the top of the next round, this scenario plays out, triggering a Disengage-based reflexive move. Assuming your movement options in in some way limited (Option 1 or 2, here), should 'round' be taken as 'from when you take the aim action, until your next turn'?

                          Apologies if my question is getting a bit pedantic, I wasn't as clear as I thought I was with my original scenario.
                          Normally, Aiming means you can't take any kind of move action (basic reflexive move, disengage, rush, whatever). I'd assumed you were referring to a scenario where there's some kind of magic permitting it; sorry.


                          Developer for Exalted

                          Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                          Robert Vance's Patreon

                          Comment


                          • Originally posted by Lanic View Post
                            1. How do successes added to your raw withering damage interact with soak? Suppose that some effect adds 3 successes to your withering damage roll (at least one), your raw damage is 15, and that enemy's soak is 16. Do you bypass soak? What happens if the soak is set to be 18? (The last question is because I'd be incline to accept 1 success = 2 soak in which case, you would still be able to get some withering damage bypassing soak).
                            They don't really interact with soak at all - they're added directly to the damage roll after the post-soak damage has been calculated.


                            Developer for Exalted

                            Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                            Robert Vance's Patreon

                            Comment


                            • Originally posted by Robert Vance View Post
                              They don't really interact with soak at all - they're added directly to the damage roll after the post-soak damage has been calculated.

                              Is the same true for effects which change dice of raw damage into successes (where they do not explicitly say that these are post-soak successes)?

                              Comment


                              • Originally posted by Lanic View Post


                                Is the same true for effects which change dice of raw damage into successes (where they do not explicitly say that these are post-soak successes)?
                                Basically, yeah - the conversion applies after the soak conversion.

                                If the Storyteller wants to change it up and have damage successes/dice conversion count towards soak, that's fine, but I don't think that's the intended procedure.


                                Developer for Exalted

                                Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                                Robert Vance's Patreon

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X