Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask the Devs v2

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Edit: Deleted
    Last edited by The Wizard of Oz; 02-16-2020, 05:39 PM.


    STing Bronze Age Exalted

    Comment


    • Originally posted by Eric Minton View Post

      The gate has been sealed since long before the Divine Revolution. Insofar as anyone in Heaven knows it exists, it's little more than a historical curiosity. Some may even only know of it through Palanquin's legends, believing it to actually be a defunct gate to Yu-Shan.

      This doesn't rule out the possibility that someone assigned a spirit to guard it in ancient days, but actually keeping tabs on any such guard isn't a high priority.
      Does this mean that Karvara was not acquired using the gate?

      Comment


      • Do you have to move one range band in order to use Thunderbolt Attack Prana or is it optional?

        Comment


        • Originally posted by Anaximander View Post

          Does this mean that Karvara was not acquired using the gate?
          While I don't think Karvara's write-up 100% states that it didn't come through the gate, that wasn't what I had in mind.


          Developer for Exalted

          Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

          Robert Vance's Patreon

          Comment


          • Originally posted by Lanic View Post
            Do you have to move one range band in order to use Thunderbolt Attack Prana or is it optional?
            It's not optional.


            Developer for Exalted

            Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

            Robert Vance's Patreon

            Comment


            • Originally posted by Bronze Tiger View Post
              Quick question: You guys said that Mountainous Spirit Expression was getting a bit of an upgrade in its final version. Any hints as to what it will look like?
              It's more of a minor tweak than a major power upgrade.


              Developer for Exalted

              Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

              Robert Vance's Patreon

              Comment


              • Originally posted by DrLoveMonkey View Post
                The Terrestrial Keyword for Single Point's Blinding Nova Flare seems like the wording is off. It's a difficulty 5 gambit, which, if successful, gives a penalty to the defender equal to the number of successes rolled, max -5.

                You need 5 successes to make the gambit successful, no? So it automatically gives -5? Or is it extra successes that add the penalty?
                It's been long enough that I can't clearly recall what I was thinking when I wrote that. My best guess is that I meant just straight-up successes, not extra successes, so it would be -5 every time.


                Developer for Exalted

                Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                Robert Vance's Patreon

                Comment


                • Originally posted by Robert Vance View Post
                  It's not optional.
                  So you can't use it in a flurry via Invincible Fury of the Dawn or other flurry Charms, then, unless your target has a way of magically moving away from you after every attack?


                  He/him

                  Comment


                  • Originally posted by Robert Vance View Post
                    It's more of a minor tweak than a major power upgrade.
                    Will it have soak and damage comparable to other Legendary forms? Soak especially. That seems the major downside of turning into a giant gorilla, cat, ant, etc.


                    STing Bronze Age Exalted

                    Comment


                    • Originally posted by TheCountAlucard View Post
                      So you can't use it in a flurry via Invincible Fury of the Dawn or other flurry Charms, then, unless your target has a way of magically moving away from you after every attack?
                      Correct. You could use it on the first attack, but the others wouldn't benefit.
                      Last edited by Robert Vance; 02-17-2020, 05:27 PM.


                      Developer for Exalted

                      Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                      Robert Vance's Patreon

                      Comment


                      • Originally posted by Robert Vance View Post
                        Correct. You could use it on the first attack, but the others wouldn't benefit unless you're pulling off the movement in between.
                        IFoF lets you move before each attack though, so do we say that it lets you move back and then charge back in each time? Also TAP says if it moves you it uses up your movement for the action so is that probably not allowed anyway?

                        Comment


                        • Originally posted by DrLoveMonkey View Post

                          IFoF lets you move before each attack though, so do we say that it lets you move back and then charge back in each time? Also TAP says if it moves you it uses up your movement for the action so is that probably not allowed anyway?
                          Yeah, the move action restriction would shut that down.


                          Developer for Exalted

                          Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                          Robert Vance's Patreon

                          Comment


                          • Originally posted by Eric Minton View Post

                            in 3e, something called a "factory-cathedral" would probably have been a facility designed specifically to support the crafting of individual artifacts.
                            What would this support actually look like in-game, if players were to actually get one working?

                            Comment


                            • Originally posted by Nichos View Post

                              What would this support actually look like in-game, if players were to actually get one working?
                              If I had to sit down and write a factory-cathedral right now, I'd probably do it as an Evocation tree.


                              Developer for Exalted

                              Want to write for Exalted? Look at the freelancer submission guidelines.

                              Robert Vance's Patreon

                              Comment


                              • The language describing Read Intentions actions is written with the assumption that a player is initiating it. Possibly due to this, it says "On a success, the Storyteller should give a brief description of what the character wants out of the interaction" and "On a success, the Storyteller chooses and reveals one of the target’s Intimacies that fits those criteria".
                                If a Read Intentions action in the "discern motives" mode is directed at a player character, who describes that character's motives for the scene?
                                If a Read Intentions action in the "discern Intimacy" mode is directed at a player character, who chooses which Intimacy is revealed?

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X