Of Strange Materials

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Of Strange Materials

With Exigents on the horizon and my work on an homebrew, I've started to think about the possibility of strange and exotic "magical materials". While with previous editions each Exalted splat corresponded to a certain MM, with Exigents and the rules for Evocations we can examine all kinds of strange and new materials with which the Chosen of the Gods may resonate with- and I must say, that the lack of a "magical copper" physically hurts me. If we were to correspond each of the existing materials materials with its mundane form, we would get that we have already covered gold, silver, iron, jade, steel and diamond/glass- which is three pure metals, one alloy and two gemstones/minerals, which barely scratch the surface of metals of antiquity, not to mention the periodic table as whole and compounds (yes, I'm a chemist, and my research is about theoretical inorganic chemistry. Blame me for trying to force my real life work into my rpg life :P).

Anyway, examining materials of similar nature- that is, gemstones, metals and alloys of mystical/ historical importance- I have composed the following list of potential candidates, divided by tiers for how much potential I see in producing a new magical material-like product out of them:

1st: Lead, Copper/Bronze/Brass, Mercury, Tin, Obsidian, Zinc, Amber, Sulfur