Martial Arts Merit Cost

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Martial Arts Merit Cost

My new group just houserules that the Merit cost for MA makes no sense and that you can take it as an ability right out the gate. They want me to run a game for them and I'm hesitant as I'm new to the system to allow this. It seems that the cost of 4 (which is on par with Artifact 4 or Resources 4) is high enough to significantly affect the balance of the game if we were just to throw it away.

Is there a good reason the MA merit is so expensive?

Originally posted by Tyzerg View Post
    It seems that the cost of 4 (which is on par with Artifact 4 or Resources 4) is high enough to significantly affect the balance of the game if we were just to throw it away.

Is there a good reason the MA merit is so expensive?
    You've hit the nail on the head with the comparison to Artifact 4, I think. If you bought a 4-dot artifact, you could expect to buy evocations for it (up to 15 of them, by the rules in Arms of the Chosen), which significantly improve your character's performance, but are vulnerable to being removed if someone manages to steal the artifact. With Martial Artist, you can buy hypothetically unlimited number of martial arts charms, each style requires you to spend some XP on the Ability for the style, but the charms can be potentially comboed together, and nobody can really take away your ability to be a martial artist. Personally, I think they're reasonably balanced.

I wasn't part of the playtest for Ex3, but I'm told that what happened, when there wasn't a Martial Artist merit, everybody basically bought martial arts styles. It's basically combat charms that you can spend Solar XP on, which makes it extremely competitive, if not purely better, than the native Solar combat Abilities, if there's no extra buy-in via the merit.

Comment

While I'm not a particular fan of how all this is implemented RAW: