Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask a question, get an answer

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Originally posted by Braininthejar View Post
    When a charm gives you a free excelency, does it light up your anima as if you'd pay for it?
    I thought it didn't, since you don't actually pay the motes
    That reasoning sounds correct.

    Originally posted by Braininthejar
    but then I found several charms that made it a point to note that their excelency is "mute".
    Could you point a couple of those out?


    I have approximate knowledge of many things.
    Watch me play Dark Souls III (completed)
    https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLDtbr08HW8RW4jOHN881YA3yRZBV4lpYw Watch me play Breath of the Wild (updated 12/03)

    Comment


    • Originally posted by Isator Levi View Post
      Could you point a couple of those out?
      Divine Induction Technique (Investigation p312) and Unbroken Darkness Approach (Larceny p322).

      They are permanant charms that allow a free full (ability) excellency once per scene, and specify that that excellency has the mute keyword.

      Which would make more sense if the mute keyword did more than just prevent the charm's cost from adding to the anima level. Its probably just a development artefact; some sort of charm detection hook that was planned but never implemented.
      Last edited by Greyman; 11-02-2018, 05:39 PM.

      Comment


      • Originally posted by Greyman View Post
        Divine Induction Technique (Investigation p312) and Unbroken Darkness Approach (Larceny p322).

        They are permanant charms that allow a free full (ability) excellency once per scene, and specify that that excellency has the mute keyword.

        Which would make more sense if the mute keyword did more than just prevent the charm's cost from adding to the anima level. Its probably just a development artefact; some sort of charm detection hook that was planned but never implemented.
        I think that these charms are specified as mute and others are not just in case they introduce an effect that causes essence expenditure to go up, like that drug(mescalero?) from the 1st ed. twilight cast book used by Fehim. Also blurb justifacation..

        Divine Induction Technique (Investigation p312)

        Note that this Charm has the mute keyword; the Solar’s insights are never subject to censure, and are never obvious. It is as if she draws her wisdom from the very cosmos.


        Unbroken Darkness Approach (Larceny p322).

        "This Charm also has the special property of muting any Charm the Exalt uses that same instant, if she so chooses."
        Last edited by Fiikragg; 11-02-2018, 06:50 PM.

        Comment


        • That is also possible.

          Comment


          • I tried to make a new topic for it, but the forum is derping on me, so I'll ask here:

            1 So, first a small technical question: if you get to phase 4, scrap the land and start over to do specific land... does the encounter risk reset too? (and do you benefit from the charm that lets you start at stage two?) or do you just continue straight where you left off?

            2 And now the main question: What is the idea behind the whole thing? At first sight the whole skill tree looks like "build your whole character around planning a single epic battle that will let you create a kingdom of your own, in the middle of ridiculously hostile territory."

            Is there something I'm missing here?

            Comment


            • Yeah the Exalted forum seems to be broken, don't know why but it does suck


              .

              Comment


              • Originally posted by Braininthejar View Post
                I tried to make a new topic for it, but the forum is derping on me, so I'll ask here:

                1 So, first a small technical question: if you get to phase 4, scrap the land and start over to do specific land... does the encounter risk reset too? (and do you benefit from the charm that lets you start at stage two?) or do you just continue straight where you left off?
                The latter. You lose the generated non-specific land, creatures, and demesne, in exchange for the ability to begin generating specific land in phase 4 and subsequently.

                Originally posted by Braininthejar View Post
                2 And now the main question: What is the idea behind the whole thing? At first sight the whole skill tree looks like "build your whole character around planning a single epic battle that will let you create a kingdom of your own, in the middle of ridiculously hostile territory."
                That is close to it. Wyld Shaping charmset lets the Solar forge new territory, followers, assets, and resources that might not be accessible in any other way. They are charms, instead of spells or workings, so as to restrict the narative of expanding Creation mostly to solars.

                It is a little expensive to buy in to, so its up to the players to ensure the returns are worth it.

                Of course, once you have the acquired the charms you need not stop at the one use...you just need to fund the xperience (or solar xperience) needed to activate the charms.

                Comment


                • Stomach Bottle Bug question...

                  From Books of Sorcery, Vol V - Demons and Ghosts:
                  Stomach bottle bugs resemble fist-sized beetles with 10 legs similar to those of a grasshopper. They possess
                  a dangerous appetite for tainted and putrid substances and spend their most of their lives scouring the bodies of the Yozis of those things that might eventually build up enough to cause harm to their masters. The stomach bottle bugs sometimes discover veins of corruption that sicken the Yozis, and thousands perish only to have their tainted corpses devoured by their kin. New sesseljae are born from the poisoned waste until it is entirely consumed.
                  Does this only occur in Malfeas? Or if creation had a large corrupt area that someone had summoned stomach bottle bugs to consume, would they continue to self-propegate until all of the toxin was consumed?

                  Comment


                  • Somehow I repeated the same message multiple times. I hope someone can delete this.

                    Comment


                    • Somehow I repeated the same message multiple times. I hope someone can delete this.

                      Comment


                      • Originally posted by Fredo View Post
                        Stomach Bottle Bug question...

                        Does this only occur in Malfeas? Or if creation had a large corrupt area that someone had summoned stomach bottle bugs to consume, would they continue to self-propegate until all of the toxin was consumed?
                        Well, look over to the other column, under Summoning. "Sometimes, without sorcery, stomach bottle bugs are called to Creation when a region is overcome with toxic substances." So even if they do not spawn in Creation, enough might autosummon to leave survivors after the clean up.

                        Still, that does not answer the original question on whether a sorcerer has cause to consider that their summoned healer might proliferate from overindulgence. And it is ... possible.

                        In Compass of Celestial Directions: Malfeas, it is written that summoned Gaulmau (Hooded Lanterns) may reproduce to release unbound Gaulmau on Creation. It also mentions that chrysogonae reproduce by infecting mortals trough their bite, transforming them (more details on this are in BoSV too). So at least some demons have access to their native means of reproduction wherever they are, and this may be a source of unbound demons.


                        Responsible sorcerers take note.

                        Comment


                        • So, great news! My group and I finished up our prior game - with a good conclusion (always a struggle for me) and open-ended for reunion episodes later. And we're on to Exalted, doing a few preludes to get started for real right after the holidays.

                          While we're working things out, I've hit a couple of hiccups along the way.

                          How do we assist actions in Ex3? I tried using the good-ol' mechanic of assisting characters' successes becoming bonus dice for the primary character's action, but that immediately turns into explosions of final successes way beyond exceptional. Whoops!

                          I'd been improvising a rule of assisting someone being a flat +2 dice, so far. Assisting someone is generally obvious and only applies in circumstances where you can reasonably collaborate.

                          Also, when awarding a 2-dot stunt, how do you handle the bonus Willpower? It doesn't go above your maximum WP, so is it lost? Can it be turned into an extra success immediately to avoid being wasted?


                          Thanks and certainly more to come!


                          Check out Momentum Exalted!

                          Comment


                          • Originally posted by Simon Darkstep View Post

                            Also, when awarding a 2-dot stunt, how do you handle the bonus Willpower? It doesn't go above your maximum WP, so is it lost? Can it be turned into an extra success immediately to avoid being wasted?
                            Can't answer the first part but if i was going for a 2-point stunt i would already be spending a point so if i was running i'd probally let them insta-spend

                            Comment


                            • There doesn't appear to be a general rule for assist actions. Some of the subsystems have a specific rule---such as cooperation under sorcerous workings. I would go with a circumstantial bonus, or fold it into a stunt description.

                              Indeed, there is a solar socialise charm, wise council, which converts success to bonus dice given to assist another's socialise rolls, so that would be a bit too potent for general use.

                              Comment


                              • Thanks for the replies!


                                Check out Momentum Exalted!

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X