Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why would a DB of the Realm join a group of Anathema?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why would a DB of the Realm join a group of Anathema?

I have been bored recently and brainstormed a circle for a comedy Exalted fic/story/something that I will probably never write. The first two members I came up with were a Solar and a Lunar, of course, so I had to have a DB in there.

Unfortunately, I love Exalted and read the books, but I have immense trouble finding a game. I have been in exactly one Exalted session (not game, session--indeed it was the only RPG session I have ever been in) in my entire life back when I was as a freshman in high school (I'm a college sophomore now), in a game that ended in two sessions due to a legit pedo in our group (long story). As such, I have a semi-decent grasp of Exalted canon, but I have basically seen zero actual Exalted in action. So I'm not sure how people do this. I came up with a few ideas, but they feel unsatisfactory:

1: The Dynast becomes disillusioned with the Realm. This doesn't seem like a plausible idea, though. The Realm goes to literally every length possible to exult DB's as bodhisattvas who are literally incapable of doing wrong. I can understand a Realm citizen who's used to getting fucked becoming disillusioned, but Dynasts get basically everything. Why rebel against a system where you are at the absolute top, no questions asked?

2: The Dynast realizes the lies and truth the Realm spreads, discovering the actual history of Creation. Now...how is he to do this? The Realm censors everything heavily and even the goddamn historians and sorcerers themselves are pretty in the dark. How did this random Fire-Aspect learn about the Usurpation and the First Age, etc?