Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is Arete worth it?

Specifically using 1E -
    So I'm new to Scion, coming from W:tF, C:tL, Exalted 1E, and Aberrant and Adventure! long ago. Working to make some characters for my players, we're all exploring the rules in Hero together, and the consensus around the table is that Arete 1 is not really such a great birthright. You can't trade in the two for a potential reroll, it's not successes like Epic Attributes, it's just one extra die to one skill roll.
    Is this a less-useful or relevant ability than the other pantheon-specific boons? How do/did you make it worth the taking for your players?

In terms of efficacy? Arete is probably the best PSP (not exactly a crowded field). At lower levels it's not really great, but once you get up there you're going to appreciate the dice, and the rerolls.

In terms of being fun? Arete is the single most boring Purview. It adds dice and lets you reroll.

Honestly the best reason to take Arete 1 is because Arete 2 requires it.

Also, warnings to your players: Any Birthright that isn't a Relic? Sucks. Half any given Purviews? Suck. If your players want something worth their XP, invest in Epic Attributes and the handful of Boons that don't suck.

Also also tell your players to not take Jotunblut, because it's absolutely fucking terrible on every level. It sucks for being inaccurate to anything in Nordic Myth, it sucks because it's actually kind of offensive (giving your blood to other people and animals is kind of gross even without the Supernatural Loyalty) and its mechanics are absolutely terrible (You buff the strength and stamina of your FOLLOWERS, when your Followers are mechanically useless and even if you give them 1-3 dots of Epic Strength they're gonna keep sucking because you're better off using your XP to improve yourself)