Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Previews Rules Questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Yig1015w
    replied
    So stress damage can only grant two complications from a single slot? Why couldnt someone split that 5 stress into two -2 complications and 1 -1 complication. What happens if they were hit for something crazy like 7 damage? Splitting it into two complications means a -4 slot and a -2 slot. Is that last point of stress forced into your vitality slot? But what if your 1st vitality slot is already full? Does it then get sent down to a 3rd complication? Seems like a complicated system for what seems to be fairly simple one overall.

    Seems like it would have been much cleaner and simplier to just have your vitality equal your stamina and take dmg normally (from left to right) with the option of reducing it with injury complications totaling no more than -9. (The total of current complication values allowed)
    Last edited by Yig1015w; 09-22-2016, 07:34 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Kyman201
    replied
    Yig1015w - For what it's worth, that's mostly my read. I think the "First time you take Stress" means that you can't split stress that has already been split.

    So, hypothetically, let's say that you roll VERY poorly and take five Stress. Rather than filling your 5-box, you can split it into, say, your 2-box and 3-box. But you can't, say, take that split Stress, and split it again, in this case taking your 2-stress and splitting it into 1-stress and a complication.

    Leave a comment:


  • Yig1015w
    replied
    Just got done reading the damage section. States that stress is not ablative. Not entirely sure if i have this exactly right but I'll give an example of how see it.

    When you take stress damage the first time you simply mark the box equal to the damage or take it fully as complications. In the example's case that would be 3. So lets say the person in this example has 5 stamina. They now have their 1st, 2nd, 4th, and 5th boxes unmarked because they chose to not turn it into a complication.

    Next attack they take 2 damage and choose one again to not take a complication. In this case u simply mark their 2nd vitality box leaving their 1st, 4th, and 5th box unmarked rather than them being taken out. Seems ok.

    Now what if they take 3 more damage? My 3rd box is already full, but it states after the first time you take stress you can split it. So I could choose to take a -2 complication and 1 point of stress dmg? This all makes sense to me.

    My two questions come down to this...

    1. Is the above how everyone else has been reading this?

    2. The fact that it says "additional stress after this" does that mean that you cannot split the first amount stress damage that is done to a empty vitality track? If a character has 2 stamina and they are hit for 3 stress they are unable to take a -2 complication and take mark their 1st stress vitality slot?

    EDIT: Another question. What happens if you take 1 stress damage when you have your 1st vitality slot filled and your -1 complication slot filled?

    I guess I just need this entire damage system explained a little better overall.
    Last edited by Yig1015w; 09-22-2016, 07:17 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Limited Reagent
    replied
    "Momentum may be spent whenever the player wants to add dice to any pool, one die per Momentum point."

    That's all I can find. I assume it's any amount (up to 12 since that's your max.) Looks like it was simplified compared to the alpha version where you had to spend it all at once, or 2 Momentum for 2 dice if it fit your Path. A bit more like Willpower of other WW games now. Also makes sense that you can spend all 12 if you want, considering that's how it used to work.

    Leave a comment:


  • Prince of the Night
    replied
    Is Genesis just fluff, or will it have a mechanical effect.

    Leave a comment:


  • Kyman201
    replied
    Originally posted by atamajakki View Post
    Starting with an easy one: does Momentum add dice or successes, and how many can you spend at once?
    From the system... Looks like Momentum adds dice, and this is noted as being one of the few ways that one can add dice to a roll in Storypath.

    Dunno what the limit on that is though, I'll keep looking.

    Leave a comment:


  • Yig1015w
    replied
    Good idea, I'll copy my question from the Ask Neall thread and drop it here.

    Three questions so far. How do shields work? I know a buddy of mine is going to try and make a tank character type and will likely use a shield (or even two of them because hes obsessed like that).

    When the versatile tag mentions used to stunt does it mean when used with non combat oriented actions or do they get 1 automatic success that can be used on a stunt on each successful attack?

    Also, I assume a long bow can use athletics or firearms to make attacks with it so a character can be a good shot without necessarily being everything else athletics entails?

    Leave a comment:


  • CycloneJoker
    replied
    Page 18, the rules for what attribute is used for attacking at what range (which, I should add, is a pretty interesting attempt at solving the Dex = godstat for combat problem found in previous White Wolf/OPP games). The section about Range Modifiers says that you use Cunning for attacks at Long Range. The Range Table says it's Composure. Which is it?

    Leave a comment:

Working...
X