Dissapointed by the Netjer preview

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dissapointed by the Netjer preview

I want to preface this by saying both that I mean no offense with any of this post, and that I'm a casual student of Egyptian myth with very little academic backing for my studies. The Netjer have been my favorite pantheon for pretty much my entire life, and I'm a fan of them and of Scion above everything else.

That said, I am profoundly let down by the Netjer preview we've seen, and have enough individual complaints with it that I'm honestly considering doing a complete rewrite of the Pantheon myself, because I'm not sure the section can be salvaged properly before going to print. I don't want any of this to read as a personal attack on the section's author or their credibility, but at the same time it hurts pretty bad to see so many questionable decisions in my favorite mythology.

In no particular order (and using Greek names as the text does):
    • I can't think of any reason for Hathor to have not made the list, as one of the eldest (many believe her to predate Egypt as a civilization) and most important gods of the Netjer. She's the patron of women and mothers, a goddess of love and femininity with widespread worship across the breadth and historical length of Egypt. I'd sooner see her cut entirely than merged with Isis, a combination I'm not familiar with having ever happened historically and roughly akin to merging Aphrodite with Hera just because both are goddesses who love; if any merger were to happen it would be with Sekhmet, her fellow solar deity and shared holder of the Eye of Ra title. There's an element of personal bias here (Hathor is my favorite of the Netjer), but at the same time as a student of myth I really can't see any reason for this cut/merger to exist, and citing wordcount really just rings hollow to me.