romance in the World of Darkness

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• romance in the World of Darkness

I have been playing White Wolf/Onyx Path games since the fall of 1991, a few months after V:tM first came out. In that time, I have a found as a general rule, female players are much more willing to get involved with romance subplots than are male gamers. Even my best male players mostly tolerated my passion for romance because I ran a really good game in other respects. They almost never initiated romances on their own, whereas my female players frequently did so (almost always with NPCs, there was very little romance between PCs unless the players were a couple in real life). Has anyone else found this to be true? Has anyone had a different experience? Just wondering...

Colleen

My name is Colleen. My favorite song is "Wildwood Flower." My ambition is to write the complete history of the White Wolf/Onyx Path universe.

Originally posted by JulianMoon View Post
    I have been playing White Wolf/Onyx Path games since the fall of 1991, a few months after V:tM first came out. In that time, I have a found as a general rule, female players are much more willing to get involved with romance subplots than are male gamers. Even my best male players mostly tolerated my passion for romance because I ran a really good game in other respects. They almost never initiated romances on their own, whereas my female players frequently did so (almost always with NPCs, there was very little romance between PCs unless the players were a couple in real life). Has anyone else found this to be true? Has anyone had a different experience? Just wondering...

Colleen

I don't want to say I've had the exact same experience. But I definitely noticed many of the female gamers I've played with were like that. At least, they were when we were playing World of Darkness games. Shadowrun and D&D, not so much.

PENTEX SUCKS.

I'm a gamer. I'm conservative. We exist.

Comment