Least Favorite Splat (and why)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Least Favorite Splat (and why)

I tried looking to see if anything similar had been posted and didn't see anything, so if this has already been discussed, I apologize.

The only splats I've played are VtM, WtA, MtA and MtR, and Mummy only briefly, so I guess that doesn't count. Of the main three though, I dislike Werewolf the most. Here's why, best I can sum up:
    • I dislike the "eco-terrorist" angle
    • I dislike how it feels like it centers around combat (at least in my experience)
    • I am not a fan of the cosmology/spiritual aspect of the splat
    I suppose overall, I just don't like the flavor, as it's been presented to me over the years, and I started playing WoD in 1998. I freely admit it could have been my first ST who left the bad taste, but that colors one's experience.

Anyway, what's your least favorite splat and why? I'm curious to see your answers

It would be easier to say the splats I do like, which would just be Wraith and Demon.

Just call me Lex.

Female pronouns for me, please.

Comment

I dislike what Hunters are, altrough I like what they could be.

They had so much potential in their corebook as empowered humans who are revealed what lies in the shadows, and then choose how to act about that...but in the following material most of this wasn't explored.
      Messengers are untrustworthy, they have their own agenda that includes giving most hunters a bias against monsters (monsters fell "wrong"), and the average hunter it's supposed to be OK with them. Add to that the fact that hunters go mystically insane as they improve their powers, and you don't seem to be that free to make your choice anymore.