Chivalric Romance/Investigation-based Chronicle

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chivalric Romance/Investigation-based Chronicle

Hello, everyone. I'm going to be the Storyteller for a Chronicle with several of my friends this fall. Because this is my first time GM'ing for an RPG, I want to keep the campaign simple, so I was planning on avoiding the politics of the Kithain, and instead have a Chivalric Romance style campaign centered around a small Freehold in 1990's New York. This leaves me with several questions. Firstly, how plausible would it be to explain that an unusually large number of chimerical creatures have been located around the freehold the players are apart of, prompting the lord of said freehold to begin dispatching teams of Changelings to deal with said creatures? Secondly, I was wondering if chimerical beasts leave things that changelings could use to track them, like footprints or offal? Thirdly, does anyone have any suggestions for what kind of monsters I could use? I'm already planning on using the sewer gator at least once, but I can't think of other creatures that exist in New York City urban folklore. Thank you for your time.

Well chimerae don't have to just take the form of mythical creatures, like bygones are. They can be manifestations of emotions, dreams, passions, etc. So you could have manifestations of corporate greed, or neuroticism, or racial tension, or gang warfare. That possibly gives you more scope for coming up with more unique chimerae.

Comment

Does that mean chimerae can be manifested into a group, instead of a single creature? Thank you for the ideas.

Comment

Originally posted by Germanicus5 View Post
        Does that mean chimerae can be manifested into a group, instead of a single creature? Thank you for the ideas.
        Sure. Maybe a growing fear of a new virus manifests as a swarm of infectious creatures.

Comment