Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What Type of Game is Mage the Ascension?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What Type of Game is Mage the Ascension?

The reason the question is that there seems to be wildly divergent viewpoints of what type of game is Mage the Ascension. Since I started playing it in 1995, I have always thought of Mages representing one of four failings of humanity, each represented by one of the four major factions, with the Conventions representing Hubris, the Marauders representing Insanity, the Nephandi representing Corruption, and the Traditions representing Nostalgia. The counterargument seems to be that Mage the Ascension is a game designed for the munchkins, by the munchkins, and of the munchkins, where every fantasy of power can be realized by the players, with the Mages walking as Gods among Mortals.

Where does your viewpoint of Mage the Ascension fit? Is Mage the Ascension a game about the failings of humanity and, despite the power of the Mages, the inevitability that humans will fall to one of Corruption, Hubris, Insanity, or Nostalgia? Is Mage the Ascension a game about playing nascent Gods? Is Mage the Ascension something different for you?