Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Character creation and progression: What is optimal, what's a trap?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Character creation and progression: What is optimal, what's a trap?

Hey, so I'm relatively new to Mage the Ascension,and so I was looking for some help on the topic of character build choices, optimization and progression. I know that I should consider the flavor of things and it depends on context and the game, and a million other detractions, but even still I would like to ask.

For a slightly investagatory game with only a moderate expectation of combat, what sphere's and merits and skills are probably good, which are bad? What will I find the most consistently useful in your opinion and how do I make the most out of any given ability? Is there any particularly broken combos that exist that are fun to be aware of, even if they might not be used?

Any and all input is appreciated, and while I understand that some people might be opposed to what I'm asking on principle please understand that it is intended to help me fully grasp the framework of the game and not harm my ST or the other players experience, and any actions that might do so will exist only in the realm of "a fun idea, in theory." Thanks.

There is no suboptimal build in Mage, I don’t think. Any combination of skills can be useful or problematic given the circumstances, so it all depends on what kind of role you want to fill.

If you want to be the party face, for example, you’d probably want to invest in talky stats like expression, subterfuge, and a heavy dose of charisma and manipulation, likewise if you want to do a lot of the physical stuff then dex and strength are more your priority. Stamina is always recommended unless you want to be particularly weak, and perception is not something to skimp on.

Regarding the spheres, again, it all depends on what kind of magic you want to focus on.