No announcement yet.

Expanded Quiet

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Expanded Quiet

    In Mage, we don’t have a morality system like there is in most of the other World of Darkness games. Instead we have Resonance, Paradox, and Quiet. In M20, there are three versions of Quiet that are presented related to Dynamism, Stasis, and Entropy.

    I have been exploring the idea of expanding outside of the Triat, and into the Spheres instead. As a mage works their Magick on the world, that Magick changes them too. Each sphere, taken to its extreme or its qlipploth is problematic for a mage. Below I will note each extreme with a 0 or ∞.

    0: Denial - The mage is unable to see any reality that doesn’t match their own ideas. Over time, this can lead to a mage denying their own Magickal nature.
    ∞: Madness - The mage gets lost in their own imagination and dreams to the point where the Material World loses it’s reality to them.

    0: Catatonia - The mage turns inward and gets lost in their own mind. This is what we generally think of as Quiet
    ∞: Ego Death - The mage loses their sense of self, and can no longer distinguish their own thoughts from those of others. Eventually, they loose their identity completely.

    0: Psychopathy - The mage looses their sense of morality, and is unable to see the value in other people.
    ∞: Disembodyment - The mage spends too much time in the Umbra and looses their material form, making them unable to exist in the Material World.

    0: Diseased - The mage’s body is sickened. This could be wounds that never heal, or a mutated form, or perhaps they become parasitic.
    ∞: Feral - The mage’s becomes more animalistic and feral, motivated by base desires, with little rational thought.

    0: Immaterial - The mage becomes immaterial. This starts with them being unable to touch specific materials, but eventually they are unable to touch anything or anyone. Good luck finding food.
    ∞: Pertified - The mage starts to calsify. Their movements become slowed, and their thinking more ridged. Eventually, they will be unable to be swayed and unable to move.

    0: Paralyzed - The mage becomes unable to move, as their energy is leached into the environment.
    ∞: Volitile - The mage becomes volatile and erratic, both mentally and physically. Eventually the mage is likely to lash out, and when they do, they cause large swaths of destruction.

    0: Acausal - The mage becomes unable to understand causal relationships. Events seem to happen at random with no meaning or order.
    ∞: Anachronistic - The mage becomes unmoored in time. They become unaware of the present day, and they tend to think that they are from a different time entirely, and look at things from that perspective.

    0: Disconnected - The mage becomes disconnected and disjointed. Space slips around them, and eventually their bodies may become disconnected, even as they still function.
    ∞: Shattered - The mage becomes collocated in many places at once, distorting their sense of space. They have no control over this, and eventually have no real idea where they are.

    0: Jhor - The mage becomes disconnected from the turning of the Wheel, and instead become obsessed with death and Oblivion.
    ∞: Fatalistic - The mage becomes obsessed with Fate, and instead see free will as a sad joke.

  • #2
    I've also considered moving Quiet away from the Triat. But rather than the Spheres (nine kinds of Quiet is rather unwieldy}, I shifted it to the Avatar Essences. The Dynamic Essence is prone to Madness; the Pattern Essence is prone to Denial; the Primordial Essence is prone to Obsession (with morbidity bring Obsession with Death), and the Questiing Essence is prone to Hubris.

    All mages are susceptible to all forms of Quiet based on their actions; but actions are influenced by your Avatar: rather than saying that, say, a Dynamic Avatar is prone to Madness, it's more correct to say that a Dynamic Avatar pushes for actions that are more likely to lead to Madness.