Sphere Order of Usefulness

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sphere Order of Usefulness

How do you rate the spheres in order of usefulness and why?

Here are my thoughts though I am relatively new to the game.

1 Entropy - positive or negative modifiers to just about anything.
    2 Time - post cognition alone is enough for the number 2 spot
    3 Mind - lie detector, aura sight, reading emotions, and mental defense
    4 Correspondence - everything at a distance and scrying too
    5 Life - Medic!
    6 Spirit - talk to dead people
    7 Force - modern times - everything is electric
    8 Prime - something from nothing, inflicts and heals agg. damage, honestly I don't really use this one a lot
    9 Mater - Bulletproof everything, again I don't really use this one, I can come up with a a lot of ideas but they're all vulgar.
    Last edited by Tuch; 10-02-2014, 06:47 PM.

It somewhat depends on your interpretations/treatments of Entropy and Spirit as the two spheres that have the most wide ranging usefulness depending on how you use them.

That said:

1 - Entropy. It is pretty much the only Sphere that's actually useful from 1 dot to 5 completely on its own and actually leaves very few holes in your abilities for it; even if other Spheres do it better.
    2 - Tie. Life and Mind. Basically the two essential "human+" Spheres. Both are incredibly useful for lots and lots of stuff.
    4 - Prime. Prime has so many important effects in it. Especially the ability to make Charms at low level if you stat yourself properly.
    5 - Correspondence. Very important to get 2-3 dots in eventually, and lots of utility, but not quite as fundamental.
    6 - Tie. Matter, Forces, Spirit. All useful if you're focusing on them, not so much if you're not.
    9 - Time. Post cog is nice... but eh. I can take Post cog as a Blessing or something if I feel the need. Time has 3-4 solid effects and otherwise it is just too unwieldy to care about.

Comment