Space Colonisation

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Space Colonisation

I love mixing Sci fi and Magic (is it any wonder I'm a big Doctor Who fan?) Assuming that it becomes necessary in a future world to leave the Earth (the World of Darkness Earth) and Mages lead Humanity to the stars. What kind of colonies and societies do you see the various Trads, Conventions, and Disparate Groups, building out in the Stars. Which other supernaturals will go along as foes. as friends, as parasites, and how would you see humanity lead by the Mage groups defending against them? Note: in this setting they won't discorperate because they settle far from the Earth. But threat Null might still be out there.

I could see the Technocratic Union busting up over space colonization. The New World Order and the Syndicate, would want restrictions that would make survival impossible. The other Conventions would have to either ditch them or put them in their place.

I could see the Trads having some nasty infighting over such project too. But being more flexible, it would be more likely to stay infighting rather than civil war.

The Disparates might need to make peace with others in order to bring their groups out to the stars. this would lead to oceans of bitterness.

But tell me how you'd do it.

My scenario: in 1999, Void Engineer monitors detected a monster in India unlike any they had encountered before; its sheer power was astonishing, and it threatened to lay waste to large swaths of the Earth. The Engineers reacted swiftly and were just barely able to destroy it. In the wake of this incident, they got decimated by the rise of the Dimensional Anomaly and the Red Star appeared in the skies. Prognosticators from all factions realized that Earth's doom lay a mere five years away, and efforts began to find ways to save as much of humanity as possible — starting with a suspension of the Ascension War.