Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HELP: what's wrong with clan curses?

Hi guys, french DM here.

I’ve been playing VtM for more than 15 years and something always bothered me about the game : the clan curses.
    Don’t get me wrong, I understand their importance and, for some of them, I think it’s a good way to improve a character’s concept (especialy with the Ventrues, the Brujahs or the Malkavians).

However, in my opinion, few clans have... dumb curses. By "dumb" I mean : artificialy handicapping (Tzimisce), uninterresting and somehow a little bit racist (Ravnos), anecdotic / lazy (Toreador), simply irrelevant (Lasombra).

What I don’t like about the Tzimisce : it’s not subtle, mostly annoying / uninteresting to deal with during the game from a DM’s point of view as much as a player’s point of view. Plus, you can deal with it very easily just by using Vicissitude, which makes a weakness of it, not a CURSE.

What I don’t like about the Ravnos : I’m not confortable with the idea of having another clan made 100% of « vicious » vampires. I mean, hello ? Don’t we already have the Followers of Set for that ? And what’s the connexion between the explanations given in the Erciyes Fragments and the actual curse ? "He, who took no action, but/abandoned other to their fate,/Shall be himself Outcast and/trusted by none." Alright so they’re just gonna be depraved and tied to their depravation ? It does not make sens. I expect so much more...

What I don’t like about the Toreadors : too situational. What happens if your player does not agree that the thing you are describing to his character is, in fact, beautiful ? You just shut him up and move on ? Well, that's not the kind of communication I have with my players. What annoys me most is that you can easily forget it depending on the place your action takes place.