Tips for a new player?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tips for a new player?

I will be bringing a new vampire character into an ongoing WoD game this weekend. I will be playing a Sabbat Lasombra. I was wondering if anyone had good/fun tips for RPing a Lasombra or vampire in general? I am fairly new to the setting.

Trust no one.

Comment

Understanding the general tone of the game is usually a good tip for any new RP. Not sure how experienced you are with RP in general.

For Kindred, I find the fun comes from the inherent drama related to being a vampire. Things going poorly is a fun chance for interesting experiences more-so than a negative event.

Comment

Talk with the storyteller and the players about the game. Is Player versus Player a thing at the table? How dark is it going to be? Is it action based or more politics-based?

Comment

Sabbat can get pretty dark, and their mindset is totally alien to even most other kindred. You might have a hard time if you're new like me, but just read into the sect mostly and try to find a clanbook, also Player's Guide to the High Clans is good for the more subtle aspects of the game.

The Lasombra are cold blooded but play everything like a chess game. So never show your hand until you're ready and never show what you really think.

Lasombra are also very independent clan wise, only the strong survive. Its tough (I think, I never attempted one) but they're scary if you do it right.
          Last edited by Talvas; 09-14-2018, 03:59 AM.

Comment

So far I've read through the main book, the lasombra book, and the sabbat book. I have a decent idea of how they work I've just never played vampire before.

Comment