Assamite Sorcery: Paths, Rituals and Kalif

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Assamite Sorcery: Paths, Rituals and Kalif

Dur-An-Ki is, arguably, regarded as one of the most ancient forms of Blood Sorcery. Recently, I've been dealing with it a lot in-game, and a player character has managed to pick some up themselves. This has mostly been fun, getting to watch them roleplay through the learning process.

However, there's been a few issues.

One, I've never used it before, but due to the (canon) teacher, the player has picked up the Dur-An:Ki version of The Focused Mind. It's been mostly fine, but I'm a little worried that I might be running Dual Thought incorrectly. Could anyone clarify how Focused Mind 4 works if trying to activate blood magic in the same turn as casting Dual Thought?

Two, I'm really curious about what exactly (seriously, give me a broad and inclusive picture) the weapon created by Blade of Smoke and Shadow can damage. Spirits, ghosts and demons seem to be the focus, but in WoD, some of those terms can be vague. Are Banes spirits or "demons" here? Are Koldunic leleks regular spirits, Banes or demons? Different sources on Koldunism give different answers. This might be important, because I've got powerful Koldun in the setting. Furthermore, does the blade work on the Fallen? Is a fallen angel called a demon by its own core book actually a demon, or just a broken angel? Wouldn't Devil's Due type summoned demons fit a bit better (seeing as they're quasi-Earthbound)?