V5: Creating SPCs?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• V5: Creating SPCs?

So I'm rather new to both Vampire the Masquerade as a game and I've decided to run a small chronicle for a few friends set in our city. The main problem I've been running into during my preparation though is creating the stats for the Kindred that populate the city. I know that I don't need to create sheets for every single Kindred in the city, but I do want to make a few as both practice and to help me prepare for when my players inevitably stumble into something they shouldn't. Are there any good guidelines to making a good SPC for V5 besides giving them whatever stats "feel right"?

Originally posted by DifferentJustin View Post
    So I'm rather new to both Vampire the Masquerade as a game and I've decided to run a small chronicle for a few friends set in our city. The main problem I've been running into during my preparation though is creating the stats for the Kindred that populate the city. I know that I don't need to create sheets for every single Kindred in the city, but I do want to make a few as both practice and to help me prepare for when my players inevitably stumble into something they shouldn't. Are there any good guidelines to making a good SPC for V5 besides giving them whatever stats "feel right"?
    I generally often use the Pregenerated Archetypes and modify them a bit. But yes, I bought Chicago by Night in all its addition not necessarily to use the NPCs but the fact that they can roughly approximate any KIND of character.

Author of Cthulhu Armageddon, I was a Teenage Weredeer, Straight Outta Fangton, Lucifer's Star, and the Supervillainy Saga.

Comment

Think about the role of the SPC and competence.

As a baseline I use the starting PC character: Is the NPC more or less powerful / competent.
      I most often just use a dicepool: 4 dice, 6, 8, or 10 dice. If the SPC do have special powers or merits i stat these.