Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Introduced by Vampire The Masquerade Bloodlines, where do I start?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Introduced by Vampire The Masquerade Bloodlines, where do I start?

Hello everyone. I'm new to WOD Vampire The Masquerade TTRPG and planning to get into it with few friends.

I only know of this game after playing Vampire The Masquerade Bloodlines video game. At first I thought it is an original but then found out that it belongs to this TTRPG universe of WOD.
    It's pretty complex for newbie like me so I'm not sure how should I start.
    I plan to rely on the video game but then I'm not sure if that game is reliable in terms of canon and mechanic.

Welcome to the World of Darkness! Bloodlines was also my first introduction to the franchise, and I suspect it's the same for many more

Bloodlines is a somewhat decent introduction to the series, for its time period. It was set in the early 2000s, around the time when the game was really escalating towards an apocalyptic ending. One which actually came. Vampire: the Masquerade stopped being published for about ten years until they decided to release what was originally intended to be a limited 20th Anniversary Edition. Which ended up getting expanded on significantly and basically rebooted the entire game. Now it's in a new 5th Edition, V5 for short, which has significantly altered many of the mechanics from previous editions. I do not really have experience with V5, so I can't say too much on it, but it's a rather contentious subject.