Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Who Can Use Thinblood Potions?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Who Can Use Thinblood Potions?

    Thinbloods, obviously, and ghouls can makes use of thinblood potions, but can full bloods drink them get the effects?
    Last edited by omenseer; 03-21-2022, 04:17 PM.

  • #2
    Rules as written it's not stated, but generally implied that only Thin-Bloods can benefit from the potions unless explicitly stated otherwise. As I recall Profane Hieros Gamos (that lets you change your gender) and the formula that awakens a Kindred from torpor are the two stated exceptions, possibly Ashe as well.

    Personally, I've always thought it's more interesting if anyone can benefit, but that Thin-Blood vitae is always a crucial ingredient (or that there's something else inherent to Thin-Bloods meaning they alone can make it work). The idea that they alone can create concoctions to help or hinder their fellow Kindred makes them very interesting, it gives them a unique bargaining chip (like the Tremere with Thaumaturgy).

    I have a player who's going to be playing a Thin-Blood Alchemist and we're using a few tweaks to try and make it a bit more versatile:

    1) Fixatio is now the default method. It’s the most in-keeping theme-wise and simply the most versatile and effective. (The other methods could be interesting, but outside of very specific plots, or themed Chronicles they're simply not practical.)
    2) Thin-Blood characters who take the require Thin-Blood Alchemy merit at character creation can, at ST discretion, exchange 3-dots of their starting advantages to buy an additional dot in Thin-Blood Alchemy. They can also exchange up to 2-dots of their starting advantages to buy additional Thin-Blood Alchemy formulas, with each formula costing its level in dots. E.g. a 1st level formula costs 1-dot, a 2nd 2-dots.
    3) All formulas cost 2*level XP, and take that many weeks to learn.
    4) Distilling a formula takes a number of days equal to the level of the formula. (Possibly squared but as it stands still seems fair.)
    5) Formulas that aren’t refrigerated last a number of nights equal to 7-level. E.g. level-1 6 nights, level-2 5 nights, etc. Refrigerated is indefinite.
    6) Alchemists can produce and carry as many vials of substance as they can produce. (Storyteller sets the limit based on the availability of materials.)
    7) Kindred can benefit from thin-blood formulas, but producing such formulas increases the difficulty by 1 and requires double the components. It also still requires thin-blood alchemy.




    STV Author - Guide to the Sabbat
    Current Project(s): Tales from the Fronts - A Guide to the Gehenna War

    Comment


    • #3
      It use to be that, unless otherwise stated, only the option's maker can use the potion at least by RAW. It is possible for a full-blood to learn TBA, but many STs will not allow them to use it.

      Ultimately, it's a discipline like all the rest, just more like old Thaumaturgy in a lot of ways. In lore, it seems to be implied only thin bloods have fully learned TBA.

      Fun fact, tba is out of clan for everyone by RAW. Thin-Bloods don't have any in clan disciplines outside of merits.


      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by omenseer View Post
        Thinbloods, obviously, and ghouls can makes use of thinblood potions, but can full bloods drink them get the effects?

        Only the potions that specifically say others can use them, such as the one that wakes up other Kindred.

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by Vilenecromancer View Post
          It use to be that, unless otherwise stated, only the option's maker can use the potion at least by RAW. It is possible for a full-blood to learn TBA, but many STs will not allow them to use it.

          Ultimately, it's a discipline like all the rest, just more like old Thaumaturgy in a lot of ways. In lore, it seems to be implied only thin bloods have fully learned TBA.

          Fun fact, tba is out of clan for everyone by RAW. Thin-Bloods don't have any in clan disciplines outside of merits.
          It is in clan for the Thin Bloods, you can check the reference chart on page 153, plus "Thin-bloods pioneered and practice the art of thin-blood alchemy" is the first sentence on their discipline text box in page 113.

          It isn't spelled out that full-bloods can't learn it, but a lot of sections directly imply it: "The thin Blood of the latest generations holds barely any power of its own. But certain thinbloods have learned to use it as a catalyst, awakening the latent power in everything from human trauma to gasoline", as well as constantly reiterating thin-blood alchemist. What can happen is that full bloods know the formulae, but that is different from the discipline.

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by SetiteFriend View Post

            It is in clan for the Thin Bloods, you can check the reference chart on page 153, plus "Thin-bloods pioneered and practice the art of thin-blood alchemy" is the first sentence on their discipline text box in page 113.

            It isn't spelled out that full-bloods can't learn it, but a lot of sections directly imply it: "The thin Blood of the latest generations holds barely any power of its own. But certain thinbloods have learned to use it as a catalyst, awakening the latent power in everything from human trauma to gasoline", as well as constantly reiterating thin-blood alchemist. What can happen is that full bloods know the formulae, but that is different from the discipline.
            My mistake on the tba being in clan, 153 page proves it. Although the text box sentence does not prove it considering koldonic sorcery was a thing, and tzimisces pioneeredand practiced it.

            Also the second part raises the question I ask everytime the subject comes up, "do thin-bloods who become full vampires lose access to the disciple? If yes, then do they get the exp they spent back? If they don't lose access, then how? They don't have thin-blood, and tba requires the use of the character's own blood to even make any formulas."


            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by Vilenecromancer View Post

              My mistake on the tba being in clan, 153 page proves it. Although the text box sentence does not prove it considering koldonic sorcery was a thing, and tzimisces pioneeredand practiced it.

              Also the second part raises the question I ask everytime the subject comes up, "do thin-bloods who become full vampires lose access to the disciple? If yes, then do they get the exp they spent back? If they don't lose access, then how? They don't have thin-blood, and tba requires the use of the character's own blood to even make any formulas."
              Yes, and I'd refund the XP. Maybe after some downtime if they had a lot of it invested

              Comment

              Working...
              X