Why people hate the tremere?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why people hate the tremere?

In a previous thread about what canon thing people hate, clan tremere just keep poping up over and over.

Why is that? I mean in theory they are awesome "Vampire mages". I have never got bore playing a tremere with tons of power to choose.

However i started playing vampire with V20 so maybe im missing something from previous editions. So my question is Why players hate the tremere clan?

There are many, many reasons...

Thaumaturgy can seem way over powered compared to other Disciplines. It can seem like the Tremere have access to dozens of Disciplines when other Clans only have 3. Additionally, for a long time (previous editions of the game) the Tremere seemed to barely have a Clan Weakness, it was a vaguely worded "one step toward being blood bound to the Council of Seven" and it barely ever came up in play, if it did it was easily ignored.

Certain power gamers love the Tremere, both for the array of powers and an easily ignored Weakness. This made it difficult for people who enjoyed the Tremere for good reasons to not seem like power gamers themselves.

This often came up in LARP games too, where you could get a posse of twinked out Tremere blasting away at anyone and everyone.

-MMM

Operations Manager - Onyx Path Publishing
    Owner/Editor - FlamesRising.com

Comment

I started playing in '92 with 2nd Edition, and Tremere quickly became the go-to Clan for the more... action-oriented crowd. Their versatility and flexibility drew many players who were looking for more of a way to easily "win" the game, often the "trenchcoat-and-katanas, chucking fireballs at everyone" type.

And that's fine! If a troupe wants to play that way, more power to them. But sometimes, you'd get a fireball-throwing Tremere in a political game, and, well, all they know how to do is toss that flame...

That, and "Vampire Wizards" was always kind of jarring in the setting.