Can Obeah cure Disease?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can Obeah cure Disease?

Can Obeah cure Disease, or just physical damage and Derangement's? Pathogenic as well of conditions like cancer, or chronic illnesses?

Not as written directly it can't. I'd consider that a very reasonable combo discipline though. Not sure what I'd combo it with to make it work, but it certainly fits Obeah's paradigm.

Comment

perhaps a combo with vicissitude

Comment

Maybe thaumaturgy, or, yeah, Vicissitude.
        Last edited by Drakilian; 04-11-2015, 05:57 PM.

Comment

Level 6 can, sure. Levels 1-5 cannot, because disease is not a big element of VtM. Life, sure, but not VtM. It gets a single paragraph, I think.

I'm a professor! Why is no one listening to me?!

Comment

I think that a combo Discipline with Auspex and Obeah should cure disease. Why Auspex? Because a disease is more complicated that physical damage. Auspex is required for the Salubri to sense the nature of the illness and effectively direct the magical energies of the Obeah towards doing what ever is necessary to eliminate that disease. Then it is a combo Discipline that a Salubri could be reasonably expected to have, instead of something involving another rare Discipline that a Salubri is very unlikely know.

Comment

Or just let them buy it as a alternative level 3 discipline power.

Comment

There aren't usually alternative discipline powers below level six (except different discipline paths, but those aren't a pick-and-mix so aren't really alternate powers either).

Perhaps it could be a Valeren and Fortitude combi power? Vicissitude, as mentioned elsewhere, isn't really suitable for healing.

Comment

There's one for Auspex two and Obtenetration 4, I say go for it.

Comment

Perhaps combining Obeah with the Grave's Decay Necromancy path would allow one to cure disease as well as cause it? That's probably a vanishingly rare pairing of disciplines, though.

Comment