Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Activated Fetishes and Non-owners/non-shifters

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • CeltSPZ
    started a topic Activated Fetishes and Non-owners/non-shifters

    Activated Fetishes and Non-owners/non-shifters

    So something I don't think I've noticed in the past covered...if a shifter activates a fetish, and loses it (disarm, throw, drop, ect.) can it be used by someone else who picks it up (i.e. another shifter, human, vampire, changling, ect.)?

  • Heavy Arms
    replied
    Yes, the damage is automatically aggravated, not that it does automatic levels of damage.

    Leave a comment:


  • Story Letter
    replied
    Originally posted by Heavy Arms View Post
    The damage is automatic with attuning it. Fetish write-ups contain a "when activated" section somewhere. Compare the normal klaive write-up to the grand klaive write-up.
    You mean that after attuning with the Klaive it always does aggravated damage right? Not that it adds +2 automatic damage on successful hits instead of dice. I got a bit confused.

    Leave a comment:


  • Warpwind
    replied
    spirit mages and sorcerers with appropriate paths can attune it. probably Asian vampires & changelings too, but not western ones.

    Leave a comment:


  • Heavy Arms
    replied
    The damage is automatic with attuning it. Fetish write-ups contain a "when activated" section somewhere. Compare the normal klaive write-up to the grand klaive write-up.

    Leave a comment:


  • Maris Streck
    replied
    I should have probably opened a new topic instead of resuming this one, but it felt like a waste.

    I'm getting doubts about the use of Klaives. The w20 manual says: "Each time the wielder wishes to use one of the fetish’s powers, the player must make a Gnosis roll (difficulty equal to the fetish’s Gnosis rating) to “activate” the power. Alternatively, she may simply spend a Gnosis point to activate the power automatically."

    Is making aggravate damages a fetish power? AKA: if I'm hitting a Vampire with a klaive do I need to activate the war spirit inside to make the damage aggravate? Generally speaking I'd say yes, but then again under the Labrys of Isthmene it says: "Activating the fetish grants access to the Gift: Spirit of the Fray for the rest of the scene". The wording is not univocal but it kinda gives the idea that the fetish always does aggravated damage and you can have an activation roll for the extra gift.

    So, is aggravated damage supposed to be automatic in klaives?

    Leave a comment:


  • Black Fox
    replied
    To use a fetish, a Garou must attune himself to it which requires a Gnosis roll. So anyone not having a Gnosis shouldn't be able to use "standard" fetishes.

    Furthermore, spirits bound in fetishes are only obligated to obey Garou because of ancient pacts, and those pacts require Garou to respect the spirits in return. Otherwise fetishes can become rebellious and work strangely if at all. So it is entirely possible that besides having Gnosis, a person must belong to some kind of group or legacy that has a similar pact.

    So usually fetishes should be able to be used by just anyone. However, I would assume almost all Fera would be able to use them.

    However, because of the unique nature of some fetishes (or how they were bound) it may be possible for some of them to be used by others. However, there should be some kind of reason why that is the case.

    For Wyrm fetishes though, I think anything can happen. I can see Wyrm fetishes allowing themselves to be used by anyone provided that doing so allows them to corrupt their users and otherwise advance the Wyrm's agenda. I use lots of Wyrm fetishes in my chronicles to start Wyrm cults and empower ordinary people so I can use them as antagonists.

    Leave a comment:


  • Derzhuzad
    replied
    That is a pretty old reference. I went through Hunter's Hunted 2, Sorcerer (Revised), Hammer and Klaive, and the Kinfolk (W20) book; none of them talk about that. As the storyteller I wouldn't let just any Sorcerer or Hedge activate a fetish. A Sorcerer would have to be trained in Enchantment or Summoning/Binding/Warding rituals to know what they were even looking at or how to go about even trying to activate it. I don't have a lot of experience with Hedge Wizards in Hunters Hunted, I don't think they have anything comparable to justify them even knowing how to try to identify a fetish let alone activate one.

    I think this is a good example of 'left to the storytellers discretion'. lol.

    Leave a comment:


  • Aya Tari
    replied
    Well, Sorcerers can use fetishes up to the third level (activating them requires Wits plus Enigmas, difficulty level plus 5), though they have to acquire them (Hedge Wizard's Handbook, p. 64).

    Leave a comment:


  • idpersona
    replied
    Originally posted by Derzhuzad View Post
    Unless otherwise stated by the fetish (noted above by Wakuwa), once a character loses possession of the fetish it goes inert and needs to be reactivated when wielded again. That said, a giant silver sword thrust through a BSD's chest is still going to do unsoakable aggravated damage regardless of who wields it.

    Only a character with Shifter blood (kinfolk/Fera) and Gnosis (unless otherwise stated) can attune to a fetish, so after the fetish was lost one with gnosis could attempt to attune to the weapon. Ratkin and Corax are notorious for stealing other breeds fetishes. Undead are unable to attune entirely (pg. 98 'Hammer & Klaive')

    Some fetishes are made specifically for Kinfolk (normally requiring a WP roll instead of Gnosis for activation), another kinfolk could attempt to attune and activate one of these if they realized what they had. A normal human on the other hand could do nothing with it. (Pg 74 'W20: Kinfolk')
    That's a very complete answer. Awesome. And thanks for the book/page citations.

    Leave a comment:


  • Derzhuzad
    replied
    Unless otherwise stated by the fetish (noted above by Wakuwa), once a character loses possession of the fetish it goes inert and needs to be reactivated when wielded again. That said, a giant silver sword thrust through a BSD's chest is still going to do unsoakable aggravated damage regardless of who wields it.

    Only a character with Shifter blood (kinfolk/Fera) and Gnosis (unless otherwise stated) can attune to a fetish, so after the fetish was lost one with gnosis could attempt to attune to the weapon. Ratkin and Corax are notorious for stealing other breeds fetishes. Undead are unable to attune entirely (pg. 98 'Hammer & Klaive')

    Some fetishes are made specifically for Kinfolk (normally requiring a WP roll instead of Gnosis for activation), another kinfolk could attempt to attune and activate one of these if they realized what they had. A normal human on the other hand could do nothing with it. (Pg 74 'W20: Kinfolk')

    Leave a comment:


  • Wakuwa
    replied
    Well, before a specific person can use a fetish, they have to attune to it (essentially getting the spirit within to allow you to use the fetish). After that, the person activates the fetish each time they use it (or for each scene, depending). If someone attunes themselves to the fetish and then loses it, I'd say that naturally someone else can attempt to attune to it once they've acquired it (otherwise, how would klaives be passed on?). If someone activates the fetish and then loses it, I'd say that it continues doing whatever it is that it was doing until it comes to its natural end (for that use/scene/etc.) unless it needs active interaction. For example, Sanctuary Chimes (p. 224) are just going to keep on working for that full day, regardless if the owner is there or not. On the other hand, a Harmony Flute (p. 221) is going to stop as soon as the wielder stops playing.

    Leave a comment:


  • idpersona
    replied
    Originally posted by CeltSPZ View Post
    So something I don't think I've noticed in the past covered...if a shifter activates a fetish, and loses it (disarm, throw, drop, ect.) can it be used by someone else who picks it up (i.e. another shifter, human, vampire, changling, ect.)?
    I would say no. The activation roll (to me) is the the Fera using their spirit to touch the spirit of the item. If they lose the item and someone else picks it up, I would rule the Fetish essentially deactivates.

    Obviously, Fetishes designed to be activated by Willpower (for Kin to use) would possibly follow a different system. It has never come up in a game for me before. I would probably have those items stay activated unless a Vampire picked them up (since Vampires are spiritual voids in WtA).

    Leave a comment:


  • BurritoMage
    replied
    Well yes, however they need to know what it is or identity it as something special and generally how to use a fetish or at least talk to the spirit inside in.

    Leave a comment:

Working...
X