Challenging combat encounters?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Challenging combat encounters?

I'm new to STing & starting up a mixed CoD 2e chronicle.

My question is, when narrative suggests combat is an expected &/or reasonable method to deal with a villain, how do I decide what power level said villain should have relative to the characters in order to provide a challenging encounter but not a guaranteed TPK?

I've no problem putting them up against things they should NOT fight directly. Oh, you want to go toe-to-toe with the vampire Prince of your city on day one? Yeah, good luck with that.

However, there are at least 1 or 2 villains I'd like to include in long-arc plot where an eventual full-out smack-down could occur (if they choose to go that way). I want to have the villain statted out a bit long before that (they'll encounter it many times throughout the chronicle before it becomes the target of the narrative spotlight), so I sort of need to anticipate how strong to make it now. Too weak, and either they move to fighting it before it makes narrative sense for other plot elements, or find it a push-over when it all comes together. Too strong, and the opposite on both points.

I've found a list of power 'ranks' in some of the books, scaling up by 5 XP for a few ranks, then 10, then more. If I put the villain 2 'ranks' above the 'rank' where I expect the characters to have the showdown, would that be a good challenge (it's a party of 5)? 3 higher? Only 1 higher? (I could, of course, supplement any power imbalance on either side by adding in some allies for the big fight.)

There's no easy answer to this question. Power Ranks are going to be incredibly deceiving because everything is bought a dot at a time, and a character who dumps 15 exp into a point efficient combat build may well be able to thrash one who has 50 but spread it around.