Complete newbie to rpg, wrongly posted in classic world of darkness

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Complete newbie to rpg, wrongly posted in classic world of darkness

or many many years, I’ve had the project of playing an RPG. Life being what it is, it never happened, for various reasons. However, recently I organised a murder party for my girlfriend and it was a huge success.

And now she also want to try tabletop rpgs. So, it would, at first, be me as a GM, and her as a character.

My idea is to do a mystery/horror campaign where she would be an investigator that would uncover supernatural and horrific things over multiple adventures. Eventually she could be attacked by a vampire or a werewolf and become one, or join a group of hunters or something like that. This campaign idea has interested me for a few years now (I have posted about it a while back on rpg net) and I think I found the system which would be best for me to run it.

I had narrowed it down to three games: Call of Cthulhu, Trail of Cthulhu, and Chronicles of Darkness. I finally rejected Call of cthulhu and trail of cthulhu. I am not a big fan of the cthulhu mythos and I don’t care much for the sanity system in both games. I prefer some traditionnal horror. For ToC, I also thought the system would not work for me. It has good advice on mystery games, but I dislike the ressource management aspect, and the way the clues work.

Also, CofD is almost exactly what I’m looking for as a setting. However, reading through the book, I found that the rules were a bit too complex for me. So I might ditch some of those rules for now. What rules can be safely ignored, without breaking the system?

What gave you the most trouble, specifically?

Comment

Mostly the combat rules. Not that I don’t understand them, but they do add a lot of rules. Like aiming, dodging, auto-fire and the like.