Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

World of Darkness: Inferno

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • World of Darkness: Inferno

    Do you think that a Possessed from the Inferno book, can make Infernal Pact with mortals ? After all, there's a demon inside....

  • #2
    I might let the demon do it, but not the host. Heck I might even let the demon do it without the host knowing.


    Thoughts ripple out, birthing others

    Comment


    • #3
      I don't know about first edition, but in second edition the possessing entity loses access to all Numina and Influences. Considering how fundamental an ephemeral's Influences is for the ephemeral it wouldn't be far from unreasonable that such an integral part of a demon would also be suppressed. But in the end I think you should choose what works best in the story, and keep it consistent once you've established it.


      Bloodline: The Stygians
      Ordo Dracul Mysteries: Mystery of Smoke, Revised Mystery of Živa
      Mage The Awakening: Spell Quick Reference (single page and landscape for computer screens)

      Comment


      • #4
        The Possessed from Inferno are different than entities using the Possess Manifestation. It's more like a drawn out Claiming, or the Bargain from Geist.

        It didn't seem like they could make pacts with other humans while possessing. They can make bargains with demons, though.

        FallenEco There's a Numen Dread Power that lets you take a Numen.
        Last edited by nofather; 12-12-2017, 12:07 AM.

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by Tessie View Post
          I don't know about first edition, but in second edition the possessing entity loses access to all Numina and Influences. Considering how fundamental an ephemeral's Influences is for the ephemeral it wouldn't be far from unreasonable that such an integral part of a demon would also be suppressed. But in the end I think you should choose what works best in the story, and keep it consistent once you've established it.
          I had forgot that Pact Creation was Numina.


          Thoughts ripple out, birthing others

          Comment


          • #6
            At this point, I'd say just Rule of Cool it. If the story makes sense and it could be a good story hook, then do it.

            Ultimately, I don't think it matters if you give this ability to the PCs - the host gets no benefit from it (other than potential justification for raising Vices) and the demon gets to become stronger and potentially win control over the body. Generally, that's not something a Possessed host wants.

            If the demon does it, then its a story hook, and that could be fun. I'm all for that.

            Comment

            Working...
            X