Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask a Simple Question, Get a Simple Answer: General Chronicles/World of Darkness

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Influence question: the duration of an Influence effect is dependent on the successes gained on the activation roll. However that activation roll is contested if it affects the thoughts or emotions of a sentient being (normally rolls with results dependent on the margin of success are resisted, not contested). So, if an entity wins the contest, is the duration of the effect based on its original total successes, or on the “net” successes it had over the target?


    The longer I study science the more I am convinced that it is functionally indistinguishable from what our ancestors would refer to as sorcery. And I would know, being both scientist and sorcerer.

    Comment


    • Unless the rules for a particular contest say that the opponent's successes subtract from yours, the default is that you use the original number of rolled successes to measure effect. The comparison of the two rolls only matters to determine which side wins.

      Some contests do make that specification. Dodge rolls, for example, subtract successes from the attacker's total even if the attacker's total is larger than the defender's. But that is not the default.

      Comment


      • Originally posted by Stupid Loserman View Post
        Unless the rules for a particular contest say that the opponent's successes subtract from yours, the default is that you use the original number of rolled successes to measure effect. The comparison of the two rolls only matters to determine which side wins.

        Some contests do make that specification. Dodge rolls, for example, subtract successes from the attacker's total even if the attacker's total is larger than the defender's. But that is not the default.
        This was changed / clarified in Player's Guide to the Contagion Chronicle:

        Originally posted by p. 7
        How are successes counted in contested actions?
        The loser’s successes are subtracted from the winner’s.



        Social justice vampire/freelancer | He/Him

        Actual Play: Vampire: The Requiem – Bloodlines
        Masquiem: Curses of Caine in Requiem 2nd
        Storytellers Vault: Author Page

        Comment


        • Hello, I'm a little confused by the firefight merit, the first dot says that you add your firearms dots to initiative and mention some kind of sinergy with quick draw that would let you draw and shoot with increased initiative in the first turn, what does this mean mechanically?

          The second dot says that you can use suppressive fire even witha a semiautomatic weapon and that you can apply your defense to ranged attacks, again how would this work? you can apply your defense after using suppressive fire?

          Comment


          • Originally posted by Newb95 View Post
            Hello, I'm a little confused by the firefight merit, the first dot says that you add your firearms dots to initiative and mention some kind of sinergy with quick draw that would let you draw and shoot with increased initiative in the first turn, what does this mean mechanically?
            The Merit applies its Initiative bonus when the character is holding a gun ready to fire. Drawing a weapon is normally an instant action; if it isn't drawn at the start of a fight, you lose a turn just to have it ready, so the Initiative bonus won't apply then. The Quick Draw Merit makes drawing a gun a reflexive action, which allows it to be fired on the same turn (or drawn before it actually gets to your turn). The Firefight Merit allows you to gain the bonus upon reflexively drawing your gun, and then immediately firing it; being reflexive, you could give yourself the bonus after the fight has started to change your position in the action queue before anybody has gotten a chance to act, possibly putting your action first.

            Originally posted by Newb95
            The second dot says that you can use suppressive fire even witha a semiautomatic weapon and that you can apply your defense to ranged attacks, again how would this work? you can apply your defense after using suppressive fire?
            I would say that you only get the Defence against Firearms attacks if you've used a Cover Fire action, yes.


            I have approximate knowledge of many things.
            Write up as I play Xenoblade Chronicles.

            Comment


            • Originally posted by Isator Levi View Post

              The Merit applies its Initiative bonus when the character is holding a gun ready to fire. Drawing a weapon is normally an instant action; if it isn't drawn at the start of a fight, you lose a turn just to have it ready, so the Initiative bonus won't apply then. The Quick Draw Merit makes drawing a gun a reflexive action, which allows it to be fired on the same turn (or drawn before it actually gets to your turn). The Firefight Merit allows you to gain the bonus upon reflexively drawing your gun, and then immediately firing it; being reflexive, you could give yourself the bonus after the fight has started to change your position in the action queue before anybody has gotten a chance to act, possibly putting your action first.



              I would say that you only get the Defence against Firearms attacks if you've used a Cover Fire action, yes.

              Thank you, so after you used covering fire and some opponents decide shooting back instead of running for cover, you would apply your full defense against them for that turn right?

              Comment


              • Is "Defense" a valid Athletics specialty?


                When will you rage?

                Comment


                • I would allow 'Dodging' as one. Ultimately, whether something is a valid specialization is up to the ST.

                  That said, Defense is not a dice pool. Specializations apply to dice pools. It wouldn't do anything.

                  Comment


                  • In the Grapple rules of the core book, the Damage move states:
                    Damage the opponent by dealing bashing damage equal to the character’s rolled successes. If the character performing the move previously succeeded at a Control Weapon action, add the weapon modifier to his successes.

                    What is the type of damage inflicted overall? Is the base damage always bashing?
                    Assuming the character is holding a 1L weapon and rolls 3 successes, the damage inflicted to its opponent is:
                    a) 4B ?
                    b) 3B + 1L ?
                    c) 4L ?

                    Comment


                    • Originally posted by moonwhisper View Post
                      In the Grapple rules of the core book, the Damage move states:
                      Damage the opponent by dealing bashing damage equal to the character’s rolled successes. If the character performing the move previously succeeded at a Control Weapon action, add the weapon modifier to his successes.

                      What is the type of damage inflicted overall? Is the base damage always bashing?
                      Assuming the character is holding a 1L weapon and rolls 3 successes, the damage inflicted to its opponent is:
                      a) 4B ?
                      b) 3B + 1L ?
                      c) 4L ?
                      The default unarmed damage is always Bashing unless a Merit ir something says otherwise. With a weapon it is entirely upgraded to the damage type of the weapon, so it would be C).


                      #NothingAboutUsWithoutUs
                      #AutismPride
                      She/her pronouns

                      Comment


                      • Do the benefits of the Professional Training apply to supernatural powers using the Asset Skills?

                        Comment


                        • Originally posted by Aleksay View Post
                          Do the benefits of the Professional Training apply to supernatural powers using the Asset Skills?

                          There's nothing denying the application, IIRC. Some guy already good at mundanely reading people's emotions (Empathy) also being good at supernaturally reading them (Aura Reading; Wits + Empathy) doesn't look that out of place.


                          MtAw Homebrew:
                          Even more Legacies, updated to 2E
                          New 2E Legacies, expanded

                          Comment


                          • Originally posted by Aleksay View Post
                            Do the benefits of the Professional Training apply to supernatural powers using the Asset Skills?
                            As long as those are supernatural powers accessible for Human characters, since the major splats can't have Professional Training IIRC.


                            #NothingAboutUsWithoutUs
                            #AutismPride
                            She/her pronouns

                            Comment


                            • Originally posted by monteparnas View Post
                              As long as those are supernatural powers accessible for Human characters, since the major splats can't have Professional Training IIRC.
                              Supernatural characters can have PT (it's even in a couple of the cores; Mage, for example), but they can't use it for Disciplines/Arcana/Gifts/etc. Like, you can have a Discipline Specialty in a Skill, but you can't be professionally trained in it.



                              Social justice vampire/freelancer | He/Him

                              Actual Play: Vampire: The Requiem – Bloodlines
                              Masquiem: Curses of Caine in Requiem 2nd
                              Storytellers Vault: Author Page

                              Comment


                              • Originally posted by monteparnas View Post
                                As long as those are supernatural powers accessible for Human characters, since the major splats can't have Professional Training IIRC.

                                Professional training is definitely possible for other splats, especially if you start as a human and later transition to a supernatural template, they can make some character OP (a Rahu with with professional training in Brawl is rolling all attacks with 8 again and as a rote action for example) so I guess its the storyteller call wether to allow it or not in their games but RAW, supernaturals can definitely have professional training.

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X