Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask a Simple Question, Get a Simple Answer: General Chronicles/World of Darkness

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Ask a Simple Question, Get a Simple Answer: General Chronicles/World of Darkness

    I realized just now that we didn't have one of these so... I figure why not start one. Vampire, Werewolf, and Mage all have one. Maybe a few other lines. Either way, this is here now.


    My first question... How exactly does Armor Piercing work against objects's Durability? I always assumed it was a subtract AP from Durability deal, but apparently it's not.
    Last edited by Almarck; 04-13-2016, 12:29 AM.

  • Yossarian
    replied
    Originally posted by The MG View Post
    If you have a Defense above 5, does it levy a -6 or higher penalty, or does it cap at -5 and just act as a buffer against multiple opponents?
    The +/-5 thing is only for circumstantial modifiers (good lighting, nice makeup, etc.). That is, the ST can't just say "-10, lol" without it being attached to a specific trait or power.

    Leave a comment:


  • Satchel
    replied
    Originally posted by The MG View Post
    If you have a Defense above 5, does it levy a -6 or higher penalty, or does it cap at -5 and just act as a buffer against multiple opponents?
    Being a very different sort of penalty from the modifiers the standard cap applies to, I'd say the former; resisted rolls apply their inbuilt penalty as the only consistent input the target has on the roll against them, and capping that has different consequences than e.g. limiting how much the circumstances can allow a character to overcome their own lack of talent and expertise.

    Leave a comment:


  • The MG
    replied
    If you have a Defense above 5, does it levy a -6 or higher penalty, or does it cap at -5 and just act as a buffer against multiple opponents?
    Last edited by The MG; 08-25-2020, 03:32 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Mr.F.I.X.
    replied
    nofather by any chance do you know where in hurt locker it says that? I don't see it in the paragraph or so that covers bows and crossbows but I'm likely just missing it. Just good to be able to be able to referance it I'm called on, much appreciated.

    Edit: realized the attack roll in that section doesn't call out - defence when building the dice pool. My bad.

    Leave a comment:


  • nofather
    replied
    Originally posted by Mr.F.I.X. View Post
    I feel like I'm having a blounde moment here, should or shouldn't defence apply as a penalty to an attack with a bow? I can understand why a thrown weapon still applies defence as a penalty but a bow really is in a position I could see it argued either way.
    Bows and crossbows don't offer Defense (normally, supernaturals have their own rules). Bows barely come up in the core since they're, you know, bows. But it gets expanded on in Hurt Locker.
    Last edited by nofather; 07-18-2020, 01:14 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Mr.F.I.X.
    replied
    I feel like I'm having a blounde moment here, should or shouldn't defence apply as a penalty to an attack with a bow? I can understand why a thrown weapon still applies defence as a penalty but a bow really is in a position I could see it argued either way.

    Leave a comment:


  • Mr.F.I.X.
    replied
    Originally posted by Neos01 View Post

    I would say one dot per merit.
    In CoD core it s a little unclear, but in recent books like changeling there is no ambiguity
    Thank you, thats how i thought it worked but reading the core book again and ya, it was ambiguous enough that i wondered if I'd screwed up on understanding.


    Edit: and looking in hurt locker it directly says each one level only costs 1 additional merit dot. Guess the core was just poorly worded.
    Last edited by Mr.F.I.X.; 07-02-2020, 04:08 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Neos01
    replied
    Originally posted by Mr.F.I.X. View Post
    With style merits, are you paying 1 dot per level or are you buying each level as seperate merits ie, each level costs it's dots?
    I would say one dot per merit.
    In CoD core it s a little unclear, but in recent books like changeling there is no ambiguity
    Last edited by Neos01; 07-02-2020, 03:37 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Mr.F.I.X.
    replied
    With style merits, are you paying 1 dot per level or are you buying each level as seperate merits ie, each level costs it's dots?

    Leave a comment:


  • SomethingFishy
    replied
    Thanks everyone! I wanted to make sure I wasn't missing some obscure reference hidden who-knows-where, because, yeah, it seems like a weird oversight if Claimed get to use Essence, but have no means to regain it. Good to know this is just one of those cases where the games are trusting you to put on your reading comprehension glasses!

    Leave a comment:


  • Mr.F.I.X.
    replied
    Originally posted by SomethingFishy View Post
    Maybe somebody already asked this, but I couldn't find it with a search, so...
    Since Claimed gain the Claiming entity's Essence trait, does that mean they also regain Essence as the Claiming entity does? Particularly since it says Hive-Claimed "may also regain Essence points by consuming human or werewolf flesh," implying that Claimed normally regain Essence a different way.
    I feel in that case a hive claimed is more getting additional ways to gather essance and in this case made more werewolf like by the idigam that made it.

    Leave a comment:


  • Tessie
    replied
    What would be the point of having an Essence pool if they don't have a way to replenish it? Claiming is an indefinite Manifestation and often used by spirits to avoid starvation. In lieu of alternatives for regaining Essence, I'd have to assume they use all the same ways as the original ephemeral entity.

    Leave a comment:


  • SomethingFishy
    replied
    Maybe somebody already asked this, but I couldn't find it with a search, so...
    Since Claimed gain the Claiming entity's Essence trait, does that mean they also regain Essence as the Claiming entity does? Particularly since it says Hive-Claimed "may also regain Essence points by consuming human or werewolf flesh," implying that Claimed normally regain Essence a different way.

    Leave a comment:


  • Unahim
    replied
    Originally posted by THE DUNKENING View Post
    How does procuring services work? I had assumed that you simply purchase the service via the resources merit and then you receive the service but apparently most of them offer dice bonuses. In what context are these dice bonuses used? Does requisitioning a service only give you a bonus to a roll that you yourself then have to make? As an example, I can purchase the "Auto repair" service at availability 2 to presumably get my car fixed. But that service offers a dice bonus of +3. Do I still have to roll my own attribute+skill to repair my own car, even after paying a professional to do it and all I get is the dice bonus to my roll?
    I think it's safe to assume that if you hire an auto auto repair service to do something they're qualified to do (like repair your car), they'll simply do that within a span of time appropriate according to the Storyteller. However, if you for some reason hire an auto repair service to help you with a personal project that is outside the scope of what they generally do, though their skills are helpful, then you'd have to roll with the dice bonus.

    Don't take rules like these too strict, the dice bonus is just indicative of the quality they offer, you don't need to force the story in such a way to make use of it. This is quite similar to the Retainer merit, where base retainers of 1-2 dots have atrocious dicepools. But this does not make them useless, since they can still do many things that do not require rolls, like deliver packages, sort your mail, take your calls, and so on. ^^
    Last edited by Unahim; 06-22-2020, 10:01 AM.

    Leave a comment:

Working...
X