Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask a Simple Question, Get a Simple Answer: Changeling Edition

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • I don't know how Changeling describes Integrity, but other games straight up says that merely witnessing the supernatural is a breaking point. And I think it should be for anyone who isn't already aware that the supernatural exists.

    If the changeling appears biologically impossible in ways that can't be explained away with advanced make up, then anyone who sees the changeling will have their understanding of the world broken (unless their understanding of the world already includes the supernatural, which it should for most Fae-Touched and humans with Supernatural Merits). Dropping the mask in front of humans also makes them accutely aware of the transformation of someone they thought human, making it impossible to explain it away as make up or other special effects.


    Bloodline: The Stygians
    Ordo Dracul Mysteries: Mystery of Smoke, Revised Mystery of Živa
    Mage The Awakening: Spell Quick Reference (single page and landscape for computer screens)

    Comment


    • Originally posted by Tessie View Post
      I don't know how Changeling describes Integrity, but other games straight up says that merely witnessing the supernatural is a breaking point. And I think it should be for anyone who isn't already aware that the supernatural exists.
      I ended up scouring the book to double-check, and although Integrity is mentioned multiple times in Changeling, the rules for Breaking Points aren't reprinted. In fact, different books say different things about them, reframed for the context of their gamelines (such as through the lens of Lunacy for Werewolf or Quiescence for Mage). According to Beast, mortals experience breaking points from "witnessing something traumatic, terrifying, or that rattles understanding of the world," or are "the victim of a supernatural attack," while Mummy truncates this to "exposure to supernatural forces." Because mortals automatically gain Spooked (a possible Condition to suffer when encountering a Breaking Point) when exposed to a fae Mien, I was wondering if that was meant to replicate the situation. (Uh oh, is this another "invisible and intangible" problem?)

      Comment


      • Am i wrong or does Entitlement s token slightly deviates from normal Tokens rules?
        They all have multiple effects, and if i m reading it rightly some of the effects can be activated without a Glamour cost.
        It is correct to assume that Glamour free effects could be activated by a mortal without using the Catch?

        Comment


        • Originally posted by Neos01 View Post
          Am i wrong or does Entitlement s token slightly deviates from normal Tokens rules?
          They all have multiple effects,
          Some of those effects are Conditional upon the changeling keeping up with their duties — they're more things the changeling can do with the token as part of their role than abilities of the token in general.

          It would be prudent not to take "a token does one thing and does it well" to mean "tokens can only have one effect" when the rules for tokens combining more than one simple effect on the chart are on the same page.

          and if i m reading it rightly some of the effects can be activated without a Glamour cost.
          It is correct to assume that Glamour free effects could be activated by a mortal without using the Catch?
          The Last Key's passive once-per-day detection of people that mean its bearer deadly harm is the only one I can see.


          Resident Lore-Hound
          Currently Consuming: Demon: the Descent 1e

          Comment


          • Originally posted by Satchel View Post
            Some of those effects are Conditional upon the changeling keeping up with their duties — they're more things the changeling can do with the token as part of their role than abilities of the token in general.

            It would be prudent not to take "a token does one thing and does it well" to mean "tokens can only have one effect" when the rules for tokens combining more than one simple effect on the chart are on the same page.

            The Last Key's passive once-per-day detection of people that mean its bearer deadly harm is the only one I can see.
            The baron seal
            "Upon activation in the mundane world, the Baron automatically learns where the closest existing Hedge gate is, active or dormant."
            For example, doesn t lista a Glamour cost and isn t conditional.
            I m reading it correctly?

            Comment


            • Originally posted by Neos01 View Post

              The baron seal
              "Upon activation in the mundane world, the Baron automatically learns where the closest existing Hedge gate is, active or dormant."
              For example, doesn t lista a Glamour cost and isn t conditional.
              I m reading it correctly?
              "Upon activation" means it costs Glamour if you don't use the Catch.


              Resident Lore-Hound
              Currently Consuming: Demon: the Descent 1e

              Comment


              • Originally posted by Satchel View Post
                "Upon activation" means it costs Glamour if you don't use the Catch.
                You are probably right, my confusion springs by the interchangable use of the words "upon activation" and "he may spend 1 Glamour to"

                Comment


                • Not sure of where to post this...
                  Do you think fetches are able to "produce" a regular ghost at death?

                  Comment


                  • Originally posted by Neos01 View Post
                    Not sure of where to post this...
                    Do you think fetches are able to "produce" a regular ghost at death?
                    Dunno if we had official wording somewhere in a book, but we already have ghosts of animals, objects, still-living persons, and whatever Chthonians and Shades are, so I’d say yes.

                    Now, how would they differ from ‘normal’ ghosts is another matter… maybe they resemble Hedge Ghosts.


                    Or maybe, in contrast with the above, they can’t leave ghosts, because they’re already a type of ghost, shed from the changeling. That’d make them a strange type of a doppelgänger, the ‘ghosts of still-living persons’ mentioned above.

                    And isn’t “fetch” used as another word for “doppelganger” somewhere? Hmm…


                    MtAw Homebrew:
                    Even more Legacies, updated to 2E
                    New 2E Legacies, expanded

                    Comment


                    • When I use a contract such as Riddle-kith on my own character instead of using it on another character, do I still need to roll? What about using Discreet Summons to summon an object rather than a Hobgoblin?


                      When will you rage?

                      Comment


                      • Originally posted by Anteros View Post
                        When I use a contract such as Riddle-kith on my own character instead of using it on another character, do I still need to roll? What about using Discreet Summons to summon an object rather than a Hobgoblin?
                        The fact that Riddle-Kith lists its action-type as "instant or contested" would seem to indicate that you don't roll Composure + Wyrd against the Contract, but you do still roll for the Contract. Ditto for Discreet Summons, which contrasts the action-type for summoning an object and summoning a hobgoblin (and provides a means of waiving the hobgoblin's Composure roll as well).

                        One of the benefits of dropping the Mask is that any successfully-rolled Contract counts as an exceptional success, and for that to work, you need to make the roll; unrolled Contracts get a different benefit.


                        Resident Lore-Hound
                        Currently Consuming: Demon: the Descent 1e

                        Comment


                        • Thanks for answering!


                          When will you rage?

                          Comment


                          • Can changelings using Whispers of Mornin and Helldiving float or fly or can they only walk? They're described as weightless and immaterial, but it's a bit vague to me.


                            When will you rage?

                            Comment


                            • Does a changeling need to be touching an oath-forged token to regain Glamour from fulfilling a bound pledge?

                              Comment


                              • Originally posted by espritdecalmar View Post
                                Does a changeling need to be touching an oath-forged token to regain Glamour from fulfilling a bound pledge?
                                Doesn't seem to be the case, given the lack of language indicating the benefit applies to the bearer of the token; recall that court monarchs can turn their Crown into an oath-forged token, as an example.


                                Resident Lore-Hound
                                Currently Consuming: Demon: the Descent 1e

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X