Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Use Willpower to mitigate ANY compromise?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Use Willpower to mitigate ANY compromise?

    On page 114 of DtD, the book says that a player can spend a point of Willpower to avoid compromise rolls in the case of using an Exploit. Am I correct in assuming that spending the point of Willpower is ONLY for Exploits? Not for Embeds that force a compromise roll or for assuming partial transformation?

  • #2
    Exploit are the default, I'd also allow the WP expenditure on embeds which are always compromises as well.

    Comment


    • #3
      What about partial transformations?

      Comment


      • #4
        I wouldn't allow wp expenditure to avoid Compromise from partial transformation. But then you don't really need it; the dice pools are pretty ludicrous.

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by Ghostdriver View Post
          What about partial transformations?
          They already get a sizable bonus assuming you don't completely transform, so if I have like, 8 form abilities, and I only get 1 form, my compromise roll gets a +7. Beats galore.

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by Ghostdriver View Post
            What about partial transformations?
            As mentioned by Malus and Terroforge, partial transformations are just beat factories if unregulated, especially of the Demon has the Terrible Form merit.

            Players that do the math probably aren't even going to want to spend Willpower to avoid the Compromise, because they're only cheating themselves out of free XP.

            Comment


            • #7
              As far as I know, you can't use Willpower on Compromise rolls from Partial or Complete transformations, be it to negate the compromise or to aid in the roll.
              Last edited by Taidragon; 08-24-2017, 01:07 AM.

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by Taidragon View Post
                As far as I know, you can't use Willpower on Compromise rolls from Partial or Complete transformations, be it to negate the compromise or to aid in the roll.
                You can to aid on the compromise roll.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by Malus View Post
                  You can to aid on the compromise roll.
                  Huh. My GM said otherwise today...though he may have been distracted given he was with family. Thanks for correcting me on that.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by Malus View Post

                    You can to aid on the compromise roll.
                    Source on that? I assumed you can't because you usually can't use willpower on "degeneration" rolls, but I couldn't find anything in the book clarifying one way or the other.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by Terrorforge View Post
                      Source on that? I assumed you can't because you usually can't use willpower on "degeneration" rolls, but I couldn't find anything in the book clarifying one way or the other.
                      Degeneration rolls in 1e wasn't an attribute based roll, those that are get to use the willpower rules. Mainly the ones who suffer for it are Humanity based splats.

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      X