Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Implanted Gadgets

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Implanted Gadgets

    Are implants visible (and Compromise-provoking) in just one of the Demon's Covers, or all of them? The text could be read to imply both. On one hand, there's a large focus on the fact that it's frequently used to make up for a missing limb or physical disability linked to a specific Cover. Some of the language also lends towards the single-Cover interpretation:

    eg. "Once she’s created the implant, the demon has to make it part of her Cover’s body."
    And implants are also defined in a way that seems to support that interpretation:
    "Implant: A gadget forcibly merged with the body of a demon’s Cover."

    However this section might lend a little support to the 'All Covers' interpretation:
    "On a successful implantation, the demon loses any Conditions or Tilts relating to physical disabilities that the implant fixes. She also loses two dots of Cover from all of her available Covers, not just the one she’s implanting, and gains the Implanted Condition."

    Thoughts? Rulings?

  • #2
    Originally posted by lnodiv View Post
    Are implants visible (and Compromise-provoking) in just one of the Demon's Covers, or all of them? The text could be read to imply both. On one hand, there's a large focus on the fact that it's frequently used to make up for a missing limb or physical disability linked to a specific Cover. Some of the language also lends towards the single-Cover interpretation:

    eg. "Once she’s created the implant, the demon has to make it part of her Cover’s body."
    And implants are also defined in a way that seems to support that interpretation:
    "Implant: A gadget forcibly merged with the body of a demon’s Cover."

    However this section might lend a little support to the 'All Covers' interpretation:
    "On a successful implantation, the demon loses any Conditions or Tilts relating to physical disabilities that the implant fixes. She also loses two dots of Cover from all of her available Covers, not just the one she’s implanting, and gains the Implanted Condition."

    Thoughts? Rulings?
    Haven't used them for Demons, really (I have allowed them for mortal/Stigmatic use - and created a Merit to patch it into the rules). I would run it as opt-in: if you want is usable for that cover, you take the consequences, otherwise it doesn't affect the Cover, but you get no use from it.


    Malkydel: "And the Machine dictated; let there be adequate illumination."
    Yossarian: "And lo, it was optimal."

    Comment


    • #3
      An Implant is visible and usable on only that Cover; just as a Cover may be missing limbs via pacts with people who were, until the pact, amputees, other covers are unaffected unless it is pacted into them. However, the cost of installation is not to be taken lightly.

      Comment


      • #4
        One option for mitigation (if you don't mind Homebrew) is Cover Gadgets.


        Malkydel: "And the Machine dictated; let there be adequate illumination."
        Yossarian: "And lo, it was optimal."

        Comment

        Working...
        X