New to Geist - Lots of Questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Geist - Lots of Questions

Hello, I am new to Geist and I have alot of questions.

#1) If they come back from the dead are they truly alive? - This was answered but to be complete I added it here.
    #2) If truly alive do they function as any other living being (Heartbeat, Eat, Bodily functions, ETC...)?
    #3) Will their blood sustain a Vampire?
    #4) Do the have their soul and if so does it have marks of death upon it?
    #5) If they have a hitchhiker in a Geist that they have made a deal with can that Geist be separated/pulled way from the living person, and they remain living?
    #6) Can they father a child/get pregnant and if so is their progeny affected by the Geist that inhabits them?
    #7) If living can they be turned into a Vampire or become awakened?

This is just the beginning and I will have more based upon the answer and how much I learn about the system.

Can't speak for anything that might potentially change in the upcoming second edition, of course. From a first edition standpoint:

1) They're alive, but carry the aspect of death, meaning effects that differentiate between living and undead are kind of finicky about the Bound. For instance, the Old Laws of the Kerberoi treat them as living, I believe, while the possessing powers of the vampiric strix don't require their full ability to possess the living in order to inhabit the Bound.
    2) They're biologically alive, although their blood also carries ectoplasmic traces that act like an auxiliary immune system, and they are able to maintain consciousness regardless of any injury short of death. They eat, they sleep, their heart beats.
    3) Sure. Those ectoplasmic traces might cause some form of side effect, but I don't believe any book has addressed it, so it's Storyteller fiat.